Skip to content
Harbour Advisor

City Cruises Premier Dinner Cruise in San Francisco: Plated Dinner or Mimosa Brunch

Quick answer

The City Cruises premier dinner cruise in San Francisco costs from $122 per person for a 2 to 2.5 hour sail from Pier 3, with dinner or brunch.

Coffee, tea and water are included, alcohol is extra on the dinner sailing, and GetYourGuide rates it 4.5/5 from 246+ reviews.

Boat Tours in San Francisco – City Cruises Premier Brunch or Dinner Cruise

City Cruises California

City Cruises Premier Brunch or Dinner Cruise

4.5 (246) · from $122

Check availability

Prices and timetables checked 2026-10-17. This page contains affiliate links: I earn a commission on bookings, at no extra cost to you.

The City Cruises premier dinner cruise in San Francisco is a seated meal on the water: one ticket, from $122 per person, buys either a 3-course plated dinner or a bottomless-mimosa brunch on a 2 to 2.5 hour loop of the bay.

City Cruises California runs it from Pier 3 on the Embarcadero, and it sits at the top of the dining boats on my San Francisco dinner cruise page.

The detail that changes the decision is that the two options are different products under one title. The brunch gets live music, a buffet and free-flowing mimosas and sparkling wine. The dinner swaps those for a DJ, a plated menu and a semi-formal to formal dress code, and wine, beer and cocktails cost extra.

Pick the slot first, then the date. If you only want the skyline for an hour, the cheaper boats on the San Francisco boat tours guide do that for a third of the price, and the harbour guide home page lists other cities.

Key facts - checked 2026-10-17
OperatorCity Cruises California (sold on GetYourGuide)
BoatNot named on the listing; City Cruises says dining sailings run from Hornblower Landing at Pier 3 (capacity not stated)
Price$122 per person (USD); the listing page shows $121.71 and the scraped data rounds to $122, checked 2026-10-17
Duration2 to 2.5 hours depending on the package
Departure timesNot stated on the listing; shown after you pick a date. City Cruises says boarding opens about 30 minutes before departure
PierPier 3 on Google Maps (South Gate, near the white overhang)
RouteBay Bridge, Ferry Building, Coit Tower, Fisherman's Wharf, Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz and others as pass-bys; order and turn-around point not stated
Food and drinksBrunch: buffet, mimosas and sparkling wine. Dinner: 3-course plated meal. Unlimited coffee, tea, iced tea and water on both; wine, beer and cocktails for purchase
EntertainmentLive music on the brunch cruise, DJ on the dinner cruise
Dress codeCasual for brunch; semi-formal to formal for dinner
LanguagesEnglish
CancellationFree cancellation up to 24 hours before departure
Rating4.5/5 from 246+ reviews on GetYourGuide
$54per hour of this cruise (2.25 h midpoint) against a $54 city median across 11 boat tours with a stated lengthproducts.json · computed 2026-10-17
6:33 PMsunset on 15 October 2026; 4:53 PM on 15 December and 8:34 PM on 15 Junesunrise-sunset.org API · fetched 2026-10-17
9 minwalk from Embarcadero BART/Muni station to Pier 3 (679 m); 5 min from the Ferry BuildingOSRM foot routing · fetched 2026-10-17
$2.85Muni single ride by Clipper, valid for 120 minutes; day pass $5.70SFMTA fares page · checked 2026-10-17

What is the City Cruises premier dinner cruise in San Francisco?

It is a ticketed dining cruise on San Francisco Bay where a crew serves a seated meal while the boat passes the skyline, the Bay Bridge and the Golden Gate. The listing sells two sailings under one name: a morning-to-midday brunch and an evening dinner.

I rate the value score as the number to watch. A 4.3 on a $122 ticket says guests liked the evening more than the price, which is common for meal cruises where a drink bill can push the total higher.

Where does the City Cruises premier dinner cruise leave from?

Boats load at Pier 3, where Washington Street meets the Embarcadero waterfront. The listing sends guests to the South Gate of the pier, near the white overhang: Pier 3 on Google Maps. City Cruises lists its dining dock as Hornblower Landing, Pier 3, two piers north of the Ferry Building.

Walking to Pier 3 - OSRM foot routing, fetched 2026-10-17
FromWalkNotes
Ferry Building5 min (388 m) walking routeClosest big landmark; ferries and the F-line stop here
Embarcadero BART/Muni station9 min (679 m) walking routeThe listing says about 10 minutes, which matches

A Muni single ride costs $2.85 with Clipper or MuniMobile and is valid for 120 minutes. The listing adds that discounted paid parking at Pier 3 is available to guests but limited on weekdays, with other public lots nearby.

City Cruises also states that boarding opens about 30 minutes before departure, so the time on your confirmation email is not the time to arrive.

Tip: the listing does not state a check-in time or the sailing times. Arrive when your confirmation email says boarding opens, and keep 15 minutes spare for the walk from the Ferry Building.

Brunch or dinner: which sailing should you pick?

Pick the dinner sailing for city lights and a dressier evening, and the brunch sailing for daylight views, a looser dress code and the mimosas. The two sailings share a boat type, a pier and a price on the listing, but little else.

Brunch against dinner on the same ticket - from the listing, checked 2026-10-17
Brunch cruiseDinner cruise
MealBuffet of breakfast items, salads, carved meats, smoked salmon, pasta and a dessert station3-course plated: starter, entree, dessert
AlcoholMimosas and sparkling wine free-flowingWine, beer, cocktails for purchase
EntertainmentLive musicDJ
Dress codeCasualSemi-formal to formal
LightDaylight, so bridges and Alcatraz are in full colourDusk and night; sunset time depends on the month
KidsA kids' station is on the sample menuChoice of mains; no kids' menu stated

The listing prints sample menus that can change. The sample brunch has a hand-carved strip loin and turkey, smoked salmon, pasta al forno and a kale quinoa salad.

The sample dinner offers a watermelon salad or seafood chowder, then salmon, roast chicken, braised short rib or a root-vegetable dish, then cake or cheesecake. Vegetarian choice exists on both samples, but the listing does not mention allergy handling, so ask City Cruises before you go.

What is the route, landmark by landmark?

The listing names 14 landmarks as the route (the National Park Service runs Alcatraz Island and the Golden Gate National Recreation Area), from the Bay Bridge in the east to the Golden Gate Bridge in the west, and it does not give an order, a turn-around point or any landing.

Treat them as pass-bys and sights, not stops.

Landmarks named on the listing, checked 2026-10-17
LandmarkListing coordinatesMap
San Francisco Bay Bridge37.798, -122.378San Francisco Bay Bridge on Google Maps
Exploratorium37.801, -122.399Exploratorium on Google Maps
Coit Tower37.802, -122.406Coit Tower on Google Maps
Fisherman's Wharf37.808, -122.418Fisherman's Wharf on Google Maps
USS Pampanito37.810, -122.416USS Pampanito on Google Maps
Ghirardelli Square37.806, -122.423Ghirardelli Square on Google Maps
Palace of Fine Arts Theatre37.803, -122.448Palace of Fine Arts Theatre on Google Maps
Golden Gate Bridge37.820, -122.479Golden Gate Bridge on Google Maps
Fort Point National Historic Site37.810, -122.477Fort Point National Historic Site on Google Maps
Alcatraz37.827, -122.423Alcatraz on Google Maps
Angel Island State Park37.861, -122.433Angel Island State Park on Google Maps
Treasure Island, San Francisco37.824, -122.371Treasure Island, San Francisco on Google Maps
Ferry Building37.795, -122.393Ferry Building on Google Maps
Oracle Park37.779, -122.389Oracle Park on Google Maps

746 ft is how far the Golden Gate Bridge towers rise above the water, so they dominate any skyline photo from deck.

Whether the boat reaches the Golden Gate Bridge on every sailing is not stated. A reviewer of the sister buffet cruise says the dinner sailing goes out to the bridge for a captain photo while the lunch sailing did not, so ask City Cruises which turn-around applies to your slot.

The City Cruises buffet lunch or dinner cruise uses the same pier and lists a near-identical route.

How long is it and what time of day suits it?

The cruise runs 2 to 2.5 hours, so allow about 3 hours door to door including boarding. The listing shows no timetable until you pick a date, which means the dinner slot moves with the season.

The table shows sunset on the 15th of each month so you can decide how much of the evening will be daylight.

City Cruises' own 4th of July dinner is a useful anchor: that special sailing boards at 6:30 PM and sets sail at 7:00 PM, though it is a holiday event and not this ticket, so use the table as my arithmetic only (City Cruises 4th of July dinner page).

Sunset on the 15th of each month (Pacific time, daylight saving applied) and the 150-minute sailing window that puts sunset about 30 minutes after boarding closes - sunrise-sunset.org API, fetched 2026-10-17
MonthSunsetSail at (my arithmetic)Back at
January5:16 PM4:46 PM7:16 PM
February5:50 PM5:20 PM7:50 PM
March7:18 PM6:48 PM9:18 PM
April7:46 PM7:16 PM9:46 PM
May8:14 PM7:44 PM10:14 PM
June8:34 PM8:04 PM10:34 PM
July8:32 PM8:02 PM10:32 PM
August8:04 PM7:34 PM10:04 PM
September7:18 PM6:48 PM9:18 PM
October6:33 PM6:03 PM8:33 PM
November4:59 PM4:29 PM6:59 PM
December4:53 PM4:23 PM6:53 PM

Sunset times come from the sunrise-sunset.org API with Pacific time applied, including the daylight-saving change on 1 November 2026. Sunset falls at 4:53 PM in mid-December, so a winter dinner cruise is dark for almost the whole sail, whereas in June the light lasts until 8:34 PM.

Boat Tours in San Francisco – City Cruises Premier Brunch or Dinner Cruise (photo 4)

What is on board and what is included?

The ticket covers the cruise, the meal and unlimited soft drinks, and leaves alcohol to you. Here is what the listing adds up to.

Children under 3 travel free, but the listing says you must pick the free child ticket when booking or they may not be admitted.

City Cruises' own FAQ says children aged 4 to 12 may cruise at a different rate and that under-4s are free in most locations, so the listing's under-3 rule is the safer one to follow.

Guests who want to sit together must be on the same booking; separate bookings need a call to City Cruises first.

How does it compare with the other San Francisco dining and bay boats?

This is the pricier of the two regular City Cruises dining boats, and at about $54 an hour it costs more per hour than the $39 one-hour sightseeing boats. Here is how it stacks up.

Price and length compared, checked 2026-10-17 (price per hour uses the midpoint of a range)
CruisePriceLengthPer hourGetYourGuide rating
City Cruises premier dinner (this cruise)$1222 - 2.5 hours$544.5 from 246
City Cruises Buffet Lunch or Dinner Cruise$892 - 2.5 hours$404.6 from 40
San Francisco City Lights Cruise$582 hours$294.6 from 2,663
Mothers Day Brunch or Dinner Bay Cruise$1552 - 2.5 hours$69No rating yet
San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise by Luxury Catamaran$901.5 hours$604.8 from 1,174

Same operator, other sailing: the buffet lunch or dinner cruise costs $33 less, has no included alcohol and rates 4.6 from only 40 reviews. The Mother's Day brunch or dinner cruise is a holiday version at $155.

For an evening sail without a meal, the Adventure Cat luxury catamaran sunset cruise costs $90 for 1.5 hours, with the 4.8 rating of 1,174 reviews, and the City Lights cruise is $58 for 2 hours without a meal.

Is the City Cruises premier dinner worth $122?

It is worth it when the meal and the occasion are the point: at $54 per hour it sits right at the $54 median for the city, but that median blends cheap one-hour sightseeing with expensive sailing, so you are paying for the table service, the entertainment and the dining room more than for the sights.

For sightseeing alone, I would book a cheaper hour on the water and eat on shore.

  1. Birthdays and anniversaries - the review sample is full of celebrations, from a 25th to a 60th anniversary party of 15 adults and one child.
  2. Brunch with mimosas - at $122, unlimited mimosas and sparkling wine make the brunch the better value of the two sailings.
  3. Groups - one booking seats everyone together; separate bookings do not.
  4. Skip it if you want a narrated tour or the shortest route to the Golden Gate; this is a floating restaurant first.

When is the best time to go?

Go in September or October for the warmest, driest water: the 2025 average high was 70 F in September and 69 F in October with 2 and 4 rain days, against 56 F and 10 rain days in December.

Fog is the other variable, and the National Weather Service explains the marine layer that keeps the bay cool and grey in summer.

Weather by month on the waterfront: 2025 average high, 2015-2024 average high and rain days (1 mm or more) in 2025 - Open-Meteo archive API, fetched 2026-10-17
MonthAvg high 2025Avg high 2015-24Rain days 2025On deck
January59 F57 F2Warm layer plus windproof shell
February59 F59 F12Warm layer plus windproof shell
March60 F59 F12Warm layer plus windproof shell
April62 F61 F3Warm layer plus windproof shell
May66 F63 F1Layer and windbreaker; sun can be strong between fog banks
June64 F67 F0Layer and windbreaker; sun can be strong between fog banks
July63 F67 F0Layer and windbreaker; sun can be strong between fog banks
August68 F68 F0Layer and windbreaker; sun can be strong between fog banks
September70 F70 F2Light layer; still breezy on the water
October69 F69 F4Light layer; still breezy on the water
November62 F62 F8Warm layer plus windproof shell
December56 F56 F10Warm layer plus windproof shell

The next public holiday is Veterans Day on 11 November 2026 (Nager.Date API); holiday weekends are when private parties fill the boat, and the review summary notes that guests would like clearer notice when a large private party shares the cruise. Ask City Cruises about group bookings for your date.

Boat Tours in San Francisco – City Cruises Premier Brunch or Dinner Cruise (photo 5)

What do passengers say?

Reviewers praise the food, the servers and the atmosphere, with the main criticism about one dessert and notice of large parties. The sample I could read is mostly 5 stars, so it leans positive; the 4.5 average over 246 reviews is the better guide.

Review patterns from the 20 reviews shown on the listing, checked 2026-10-17
ThemeHow oftenWhat the sample says
FoodMost of the 20Dinner quality "better than expected"; one guest found dessert weak
ServiceSeveralServers named and thanked; friendly staff
CelebrationsSeveralBirthdays, anniversaries, a group of 15
Wildlife1 reviewDolphins and whales spotted on one sailing
MusicA fewDJ and live music liked; one guest danced all night

Who should skip it?

Skip this cruise if you want commentary, because the listing offers a live guide in English but the product is a meal cruise, and if you travel on a tight budget. Parents of small children should also check the dinner dress code, as semi-formal to formal is the stated standard.

How do you book the City Cruises premier dinner cruise?

From $122 per person for a 2 to 2.5 hour brunch or dinner cruise from Pier 3, with free cancellation up to 24 hours before.

Check availability

I earn a commission if you book through this link, at no extra cost to you.

City Cruises premier dinner cruise: questions answered

Is the San Francisco bay cruise worth it?

Yes, if you want the skyline, Alcatraz and the Golden Gate from the water; a one-hour sightseeing boat is $39, while this dining cruise is $122 because it adds a meal and entertainment.

What is the best boat tour in San Francisco?

It depends on the goal: for a seated meal, I pick this City Cruises cruise; for the cheapest bay view, a one-hour boat; for an evening sail, a catamaran or sunset cruise. See the full boat tours guide.

How much is the City Cruises premier dinner cruise?

It costs from $122 per person on GetYourGuide, checked 2026-10-17; the listing page shows $121.71.

How long is the cruise?

It lasts 2 to 2.5 hours, and boarding opens about 30 minutes before departure according to City Cruises.

Where does it depart?

Boarding is at the South Gate of Pier 3, where Washington Street meets the Embarcadero, roughly a 10-minute walk from Embarcadero BART.

Is alcohol included?

Only on the brunch sailing: mimosas and sparkling wine are free-flowing. On the dinner sailing, wine, beer and cocktails are for purchase.

What is the dress code?

Casual for the brunch cruise and semi-formal to formal for the dinner cruise, according to the listing.

Can children come?

Children under 3 are free but need the free child ticket selected at booking; City Cruises says ages 4 to 12 may pay a different rate, so check the ticket options.

Can I cancel?

Yes, up to 24 hours before departure for a full refund, according to the listing.

Does the boat go to the Golden Gate Bridge?

The Golden Gate Bridge is on the landmark list, but the listing does not say how far each sailing goes, so ask City Cruises for your slot.

Sources: GetYourGuide listing (price, includes, rating, checked 2026-10-17); City Cruises San Francisco directions (Pier 3, Hornblower Landing); City Cruises FAQ (boarding 30 minutes before departure, child rates); SFMTA fares; NPS Alcatraz Island; Golden Gate Bridge facts; NWS JetStream marine layer; Open-Meteo archive API; sunrise-sunset.org API; Nager.Date API; OSRM foot routing.

Other boat tours in San Francisco

City Cruises Premier Brunch or Dinner Cruise

4.5 · from $122

Check availability