Skip to content
Harbour Advisor

City Cruises Buffet Dinner Cruise in San Francisco: Lunch or Dinner Buffet on the Bay

Quick answer

The City Cruises buffet dinner cruise in San Francisco costs from $89 per person for a 2 to 2.5 hour sail from Pier 3 with a buffet.

It is $33 cheaper than the premier plated cruise, alcohol is extra, and GetYourGuide rates it 4.6/5 from only 40 reviews.

Boat Tours San Francisco – City Cruises Buffet Lunch or Dinner Cruise

City Cruises California

City Cruises Buffet Lunch or Dinner Cruise

4.6 (40) · from $89

Check availability

Prices and timetables checked 2026-10-17. This page contains affiliate links: I earn a commission on bookings, at no extra cost to you.

The City Cruises buffet dinner cruise in San Francisco is the budget meal boat on the bay: from $89 per person, you get a 2 to 2.5 hour sail with a small-plate buffet at three food stations, plus unlimited coffee, tea and soft drinks.

The same operator, City Cruises California, runs it from Pier 3 on the Embarcadero, and you choose between a lunch sailing and an evening sailing when you book.

The fact that changes the decision is how thin the evidence is. Only 40 reviews back the 4.6 rating, and the written ones split on the food: some call it plentiful and good, one guest did not care for it, and one table says nobody took its drink order for an hour.

That is a small, mixed sample, so I treat this as a fair-value buffet and not a safe bet. The San Francisco dinner cruise page compares the options, and the boat tours guide shows the cheaper daytime boats. Back to the harbour guide home page for other cities.

Key facts - checked 2026-10-17
OperatorCity Cruises California (sold on GetYourGuide)
BoatNot named on the listing (capacity and deck layout not stated)
Price$89 per person (USD); the listing page shows $93.27 while the scraped data says $89, so ask for the price on your date, checked 2026-10-17
Duration2 to 2.5 hours
Departure timesNot stated on the listing; shown after you pick a date. City Cruises says boarding opens about 30 minutes before departure
PierPier 3 on Google Maps (South Gate, near the white overhang)
RouteBay Bridge, Coit Tower, Fisherman's Wharf, Golden Gate Bridge, Fort Point, Alcatraz and other pass-bys; order and turn-around not stated
Food and drinksLunch or dinner buffet from three food stations; unlimited coffee, tea and soft drinks; wine, beer and cocktails for purchase
EntertainmentMusic on board; dancing is mentioned for the evening sailing
Dress codeUpscale casual to business casual
LanguagesEnglish
CancellationFree cancellation up to 24 hours before departure
Rating4.6/5 from 40 reviews on GetYourGuide (small sample)
$40per hour of this cruise (2.25 h midpoint) against a $54 city median, so it is cheaper per hour than the premier cruise at $54products.json · computed 2026-10-17
6:33 PMsunset on 15 October 2026; 4:53 PM on 15 December and 8:34 PM on 15 Junesunrise-sunset.org API · fetched 2026-10-17
9 minwalk from Embarcadero BART/Muni station to Pier 3 (679 m); 5 min from the Ferry BuildingOSRM foot routing · fetched 2026-10-17
Nov 26next big holiday, Thanksgiving Day 2026, after Veterans Day on 11 NovemberNager.Date API · fetched 2026-10-17

What is the City Cruises buffet dinner cruise in San Francisco?

It is a ticketed meal cruise where you serve yourself from food stations while the boat circles the bay. The listing sells two sailings under one name: a midday lunch and an evening dinner.

The transport score of 4.8 matters because it is about the boat and the pier experience, not the food. Guests rate the logistics higher than the meal.

Where does the City Cruises buffet dinner cruise leave from?

Boats load at Pier 3, where Washington Street meets the Embarcadero waterfront: Pier 3 on Google Maps. The listing sends guests to the South Gate of the pier, near the white overhang, and City Cruises names the dock Hornblower Landing, two piers north of the Ferry Building.

Walking to Pier 3 - OSRM foot routing, fetched 2026-10-17
FromWalkNotes
Ferry Building5 min (388 m) walking routeClosest big landmark
Embarcadero BART/Muni station9 min (679 m) walking routeThe listing says about 10 minutes

A Muni single ride costs $2.85 with Clipper or MuniMobile, valid for 120 minutes. The listing mentions discounted paid parking at Pier 3 for guests, limited on weekdays. City Cruises says boarding is about 30 minutes before departure and that boarding and cruise time differ, so check your confirmation email.

Tip: the listing gives no sailing times. Pick your date on GetYourGuide to see the lunch and dinner slots, and do not book a connecting plan within 3 hours of the return time.

Lunch or dinner: which buffet sailing should you pick?

Pick lunch for daylight and a lower-key mood, and dinner for the lit skyline and dancing. The ticket price is the same on the listing, so the choice is about light, mood and what you want to see.

Lunch against dinner on the same ticket - from the listing, checked 2026-10-17
Lunch cruiseDinner cruise
FoodSalads, entrees, sides, dessert stationComfort food and international favourites
AtmosphereDaytime sightseeingMusic and dancing
LightFull daylight; fog can hide the bridge topsDusk and night; sunset time depends on the month
Photo with the captain at the bridgeOne reviewer says it was not allowed on lunchOne reviewer says the dinner sailing allows it
DressUpscale casual to business casualUpscale casual to business casual

The listing prints sample menus that can change. The lunch sample has a Caesar salad, a berry and farro salad, honey sesame chicken, oven-roasted flounder, baked ziti, a root-vegetable dish, mashed potatoes and a cake and brownie station.

The dinner sample has a baked potato bar, a mac and cheese bar, BBQ pulled pork sliders, three-bean chili, fried plantains, vegetarian potstickers, chicken cacciatore, seafood Newburg and fruit. Both samples include vegetarian dishes, but the listing says nothing on allergies, and the dessert station "may contain nuts" so ask City Cruises first.

What is the route, landmark by landmark?

The listing names 13 landmarks as the route, from the Bay Bridge to the Golden Gate Bridge, and gives no order, no turn-around and no landing. Treat them as pass-bys, with the National Park Service looking after Alcatraz Island and the Golden Gate National Recreation Area.

Landmarks named on the listing, checked 2026-10-17
LandmarkListing coordinatesMap
San Francisco Bay Bridge37.798, -122.378San Francisco Bay Bridge on Google Maps
Coit Tower37.802, -122.406Coit Tower on Google Maps
Fisherman's Wharf37.808, -122.418Fisherman's Wharf on Google Maps
Skystar Wheel, Fisherman's Wharflisted without coordinatesSkystar Fisherman's Wharf on Google Maps
USS Pampanito37.810, -122.416USS Pampanito on Google Maps
Palace of Fine Arts Theatre37.803, -122.448Palace of Fine Arts Theatre on Google Maps
Golden Gate Bridge37.820, -122.479Golden Gate Bridge on Google Maps
Fort Point National Historic Site37.810, -122.477Fort Point National Historic Site on Google Maps
Alcatraz37.827, -122.423Alcatraz on Google Maps
Angel Island State Park37.861, -122.433Angel Island State Park on Google Maps
Treasure Island, San Francisco37.824, -122.371Treasure Island, San Francisco on Google Maps
Ferry Building37.795, -122.393Ferry Building on Google Maps
Oracle Park37.779, -122.389Oracle Park on Google Maps

746 ft is how far the Golden Gate Bridge towers rise above the water, so they fill the frame on a clear day.

The bridge is the sight at risk. A June 2026 reviewer on this cruise says it was foggy and only the foot of the bridge showed.

A reviewer who cruised at night says the dinner sailing lets guests go to the bridge for a photo with the captain, and the lunch sailing would not. Neither point is on the listing, so ask City Cruises. The premier brunch or dinner cruise leaves the same pier and lists one more landmark.

How long is it and what time of day suits it?

The cruise runs 2 to 2.5 hours, so allow about 3 hours door to door. The listing shows no timetable until you pick a date.

The table shows sunset on the 15th of each month, so you can see how much of a dinner sailing is daylight. The sailing window in it is my arithmetic for a 2.5 hour cruise that starts 30 minutes before sunset, not a timetable.

Sunset on the 15th of each month (Pacific time, daylight saving applied) and the 150-minute sailing window that puts sunset about 30 minutes after boarding closes - sunrise-sunset.org API, fetched 2026-10-17
MonthSunsetSail at (my arithmetic)Back at
January5:16 PM4:46 PM7:16 PM
February5:50 PM5:20 PM7:50 PM
March7:18 PM6:48 PM9:18 PM
April7:46 PM7:16 PM9:46 PM
May8:14 PM7:44 PM10:14 PM
June8:34 PM8:04 PM10:34 PM
July8:32 PM8:02 PM10:32 PM
August8:04 PM7:34 PM10:04 PM
September7:18 PM6:48 PM9:18 PM
October6:33 PM6:03 PM8:33 PM
November4:59 PM4:29 PM6:59 PM
December4:53 PM4:23 PM6:53 PM

Sunset times come from the sunrise-sunset.org API with Pacific time applied, including the change on 1 November 2026. A mid-December dinner sails in the dark, whereas a June one has light until 8:34 PM.

Boat Tours San Francisco – City Cruises Buffet Lunch or Dinner Cruise (photo 4)

What is on board and what is included?

The ticket covers the cruise, the buffet and unlimited soft drinks, and nothing alcoholic. Here is what the listing adds up to.

Children under 3 travel free, but you must choose the free child ticket when booking or they may be turned away. City Cruises' own FAQ says children aged 4 to 12 may pay a different rate. Guests who want to sit together must be on one booking, otherwise phone City Cruises ahead.

How does it compare with the premier cruise and the other bay boats?

The buffet cruise undercuts the plated premier cruise by $33 and by about $14 an hour, and it is the only dining boat of the pair with a rating based on fewer than 100 reviews.

Price and length compared, checked 2026-10-17 (price per hour uses the midpoint of a range)
CruisePriceLengthPer hourGetYourGuide rating
City Cruises buffet dinner (this cruise)$892 - 2.5 hours$404.6 from 40
City Cruises Premier Brunch or Dinner Cruise$1222 - 2.5 hours$544.5 from 246
San Francisco City Lights Cruise$582 hours$294.6 from 2,663
San Francisco Bay Sightseeing Cruise International Narration$391 hour$394.6 from 1,571

The premier brunch or dinner cruise at $122 adds a plated dinner, a DJ and, on the brunch sailing, free mimosas. The San Francisco City Lights cruise is $58 for 2 hours without a meal. The Blue and Gold one-hour bay cruise is $39 for 1 hour.

Is the City Cruises buffet dinner worth $89?

It is worth it when you want a meal and the skyline together for less than the premier price: at $40 per hour it sits below the $54 city median. It is not worth it for the food alone, since reviews on the buffet are mixed.

  1. Families and groups - one booking seats everyone together, and children under 3 are free.
  2. Birthday dinners - reviewers booked it for birthdays and a photo service is mentioned.
  3. Cost-conscious meal cruise - $89 against $122 for the plated alternative.
  4. Skip it if you want waiter service and plated courses; pick the premier cruise.

When is the best time to go?

Go in September or October for the warmest water-side weather: the 2025 average high was 70 F in September and 69 F in October with 2 and 4 rain days, against 56 F and 10 rain days in December.

The National Weather Service explains the marine layer that keeps summer afternoons cool and foggy on the bay, which the June reviewer above met.

Weather by month on the waterfront: 2025 average high, 2015-2024 average high and rain days (1 mm or more) in 2025 - Open-Meteo archive API, fetched 2026-10-17
MonthAvg high 2025Avg high 2015-24Rain days 2025On deck
January59 F57 F2Warm layer plus windproof shell
February59 F59 F12Warm layer plus windproof shell
March60 F59 F12Warm layer plus windproof shell
April62 F61 F3Warm layer plus windproof shell
May66 F63 F1Layer and windbreaker; sun can be strong between fog banks
June64 F67 F0Layer and windbreaker; sun can be strong between fog banks
July63 F67 F0Layer and windbreaker; sun can be strong between fog banks
August68 F68 F0Layer and windbreaker; sun can be strong between fog banks
September70 F70 F2Light layer; still breezy on the water
October69 F69 F4Light layer; still breezy on the water
November62 F62 F8Warm layer plus windproof shell
December56 F56 F10Warm layer plus windproof shell

Veterans Day falls on 11 November 2026 and Thanksgiving Day on 26 November (Nager.Date API). Holiday dates fill dining boats, so book early.

Boat Tours San Francisco – City Cruises Buffet Lunch or Dinner Cruise (photo 5)

What do passengers say?

Reviewers like the staff and the celebration, and split on the food; the sample is only 12 of 40 reviews and mostly 5 stars, so it leans positive.

Review patterns from the 12 reviews shown on the listing, checked 2026-10-17
ThemeHow oftenWhat the sample says
Food5 of 12"Plentiful and good", "could have been better", one guest did not care for the buffet
Staff4 of 12Friendly and attentive servers
Celebrations3 of 12Birthdays, a wife's birthday, a family trip
Service gap1 of 12One table says no server came for an hour
Weather1 of 12Fog hid most of the bridge

Who should skip it?

Skip this cruise if you want plated courses, waiter-led service or alcohol included, because the listing includes soft drinks only. The listing offers a live guide in English, but the product is a meal cruise, not a narrated tour.

How do you book the City Cruises buffet dinner cruise?

From $89 per person for a 2 to 2.5 hour lunch or dinner buffet cruise from Pier 3, with free cancellation up to 24 hours before.

Check availability

I earn a commission if you book through this link, at no extra cost to you.

City Cruises buffet dinner cruise: questions answered

Is the San Francisco bay cruise worth it?

Yes, if you want the skyline, Alcatraz and the Golden Gate from the water; this buffet version costs $89 because it adds a meal and entertainment.

What is the best boat tour in San Francisco?

For a meal, a City Cruises dining boat; for the cheapest view, a one-hour sightseeing cruise. See the boat tours guide.

How much is the City Cruises buffet dinner cruise?

It costs from $89 per person in the data I hold, checked 2026-10-17, while the listing page shows $93.27, so confirm the price for your date.

How long is the cruise?

It lasts 2 to 2.5 hours, and boarding opens about 30 minutes before departure according to City Cruises.

Where does it leave from?

It boards at the South Gate of Pier 3, where Washington Street meets the Embarcadero, roughly a 10-minute walk from Embarcadero BART.

Is alcohol included?

No: coffee, tea and soft drinks are unlimited, while wine, beer and cocktails are bought on board.

What is the dress code?

Upscale casual to business casual, according to the listing.

Can children come?

Children under 3 are free if you select the free child ticket; City Cruises says ages 4 to 12 may pay a different rate.

Can I cancel?

Yes, up to 24 hours before departure for a full refund, according to the listing.

Is there a vegetarian option?

The sample menus list vegetarian dishes such as a root-vegetable fricassee and vegetarian potstickers, but ask City Cruises about allergies and your date's menu.

Sources: GetYourGuide listing (price, includes, rating, checked 2026-10-17); City Cruises San Francisco directions (Pier 3); City Cruises FAQ (boarding, child rates); SFMTA fares; NPS Alcatraz Island; Golden Gate Bridge facts; NWS JetStream marine layer; Open-Meteo archive API; sunrise-sunset.org API; Nager.Date API; OSRM foot routing.

Other boat tours in San Francisco

City Cruises Buffet Lunch or Dinner Cruise

4.6 · from $89

Check availability