Beach Weekend Pontoon Boat Rental in Key West: Double-Decker with Slides
Quick answer
The Beach Weekend pontoon boat is a self-drive double-decker pontoon rented from $700 for 4 to 8 hours, with two or three slides, GPS and two 70-quart coolers.
Fuel is extra, medium to advanced boating skill is required, and capacity is stated as both 13 and 15 people; GetYourGuide shows no reviews yet.
The Beach Weekend pontoon boat rental is a double-decker pontoon for self-drive groups in Key West, listed from $700 for 4 to 8 hours with a choice of two or three slides. Fuel is not included, and you are expected to handle the boat yourself.
What changes the decision is that the listing contradicts itself on capacity. The description says 13 people, one highlight says 15, and the safety note caps the load at 15 people or 2,300 lb. At 2,300 lb, 15 adults must average under 154 lb, so I would plan for 13 and ask Beach Weekend for the real limit.



| Operator | Beach Weekend (activity provider on GetYourGuide) |
|---|---|
| Boat | Double-decker pontoon with a choice of two or three slides |
| Capacity | 13 people per the description; 15 people or 2,300 lb per the safety note - confirm which |
| Price | From $700 for the private group (USD; the listing words it "per person", but it is one boat) |
| Duration | 4 to 8 hours |
| Departure times | Not stated - slots appear after you choose a date on GetYourGuide |
| Pickup point | Not stated on this listing; the same operator’s tiki boat listing gives Beach Weekend Marina coordinates |
| Skipper | You drive: "medium to advanced" boat-handling skills are required, and no captain option is listed |
| On board | GPS, two 70-quart coolers, slides |
| Fuel | Not included |
| Accessibility | Listed as wheelchair accessible |
| Cancellation | Free up to 24 hours before the start for a full refund; reserve now, pay later |
| Rating | No ratings yet on GetYourGuide (checked 2026-10-17) |
What is the Beach Weekend pontoon boat rental and what do you get?
You get a two-level pontoon for your own group, with slides to jump from and a GPS to navigate. The listing lets you pick a layout with two slides or three.
The boat is built for sitting and swimming rather than speed. Two 70-quart coolers hold drinks and food, and the second level adds seating above the main deck. The listing describes pontoons as stable and easy to run, then asks for medium to advanced operating skill in the safety note. Read that as a warning: this is not a boat for someone who has never docked one.
- Slides: choose two or three when you book.
- Coolers: two 70-quart units, roughly 140 quarts of cold storage between them.
- Navigation: built-in GPS, no pre-set sandbar routes mentioned.
- Cost to add: fuel, which the listing marks as extra.
If you want the same operator with a captain option and a single slide, look at the Beach Weekend tiki boat. For the wider market, the Key West boat rental guide compares every self-drive option I track.
How much does the pontoon boat cost per person?
The $700 buys the boat, so 13 people pay $53.85 each and 6 people pay $116.67 each, before the fuel bill. The listing's "per person" wording cannot be literal for a boat that carries 13, so check the total at checkout.
| Group size | Cost per person | Against a $70 shared snorkel trip |
|---|---|---|
| 6 people | $116.67 | 1.7 times higher |
| 10 people | $70.00 | Break-even |
| 13 people | $53.85 | 23% lower |
| 15 people | $46.67 | 33% lower |
Above 10 people the pontoon undercuts the Sebago snorkel and seafood boil, but that trip includes food, drinks and a crew while this one adds fuel. The listing gives no fuel estimate, and I will not guess one.
Where does the pontoon leave from?
This listing does not name a meeting point. The sister tiki boat listing from the same operator gives coordinates 24.57414, -81.734295 for Beach Weekend Marina, which is probably the same dock, but treat that as unconfirmed until your booking email arrives. Marina coordinates on Google Maps.
If it is that marina, the drive from the Historic Seaport is 7.9 km, about 13 minutes (driving directions), according to OpenStreetMap routing. It is too far to walk from Old Town, so budget for a taxi or a $2 bus ride per the City of Key West fare page.
Who can drive the pontoon, and what does Florida require?
You do. Anyone born on or after 1 January 1988 who steers a motor of 10 horsepower or more needs Florida's boating safety ID card, or a course certificate for up to 90 days, plus a photo ID.
- Card plus photo ID: both must be on the boat while you drive.
- Out-of-state visitors: an approved course certificate counts, per the FWC.
- Rental briefing: the operator's staff must hold an approved course certificate to give the pre-rental instruction.
- Skill: the listing asks for medium to advanced operating experience, which no card proves.
Details are on the FWC boating safety ID page and livery regulations page. The listing mentions no captain, so if nobody in your group has the ID and the experience, choose a different boat.
What is included and what costs extra?
The boat, the slides, the GPS and two coolers are in the price; fuel is the only item the listing marks as extra, and ice, food and drinks are yours to organise.
| Item | Status | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Double-decker pontoon | Included | Private group |
| Two or three slides | Included | Pick your layout |
| GPS | Included | Navigation only |
| Two 70 qt coolers | Included | Ice not mentioned |
| Fuel | Extra | Cost not stated |
| Captain | Not offered | Skills required to drive |
| Dive flag, snorkel gear | Not listed | Bring your own |
If anyone snorkels from the pontoon, NOAA requires a dive flag anywhere in the Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary, and boats must slow to idle speed within 300 feet of a flag. The listing says nothing about a flag on board. See the NOAA sanctuary regulations.

How long should you rent it for?
Four hours is enough for one swim stop and lunch; six to eight hours fits two stops. Fuel use rises with hours, so the shorter rental is cheaper twice over.
| Month | Sunset | 4-hour rental | 6-hour rental | 8-hour rental |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan | 6:01 PM | 2:01 PM | 12:01 PM | 10:01 AM |
| Feb | 6:22 PM | 2:22 PM | 12:22 PM | 10:22 AM |
| Mar | 7:37 PM | 3:37 PM | 1:37 PM | 11:37 AM |
| Apr | 7:50 PM | 3:50 PM | 1:50 PM | 11:50 AM |
| May | 8:04 PM | 4:04 PM | 2:04 PM | 12:04 PM |
| Jun | 8:18 PM | 4:18 PM | 2:18 PM | 12:18 PM |
| Jul | 8:19 PM | 4:19 PM | 2:19 PM | 12:19 PM |
| Aug | 8:02 PM | 4:02 PM | 2:02 PM | 12:02 PM |
| Sep | 7:32 PM | 3:32 PM | 1:32 PM | 11:32 AM |
| Oct | 7:01 PM | 3:01 PM | 1:01 PM | 11:01 AM |
| Nov | 5:41 PM | 1:41 PM | 11:41 AM | 9:41 AM |
| Dec | 5:42 PM | 1:42 PM | 11:42 AM | 9:42 AM |
In November to February a 4-hour rental must start by 1:41 to 2:22 PM to finish in daylight, and an 8-hour rental by 9:41 to 10:22 AM. The listing does not say whether the boat may stay out after dark, so plan to be back at the dock by sunset.
Is the Beach Weekend pontoon boat rental worth it?
For a group of 10 or more with at least one confident driver, I'd book it, because the per-head cost drops below a shared tour and the two- or three-slide layout is a bigger draw than most rival pontoons offer.
| Feature | Pontoon (this page) | Tiki boat |
|---|---|---|
| Price from | $700 | $700 |
| Capacity | 13 (or 15; unclear) | 13 |
| Slides | Two or three | One |
| Coolers | Two 70 qt | Two large |
| Captain | Not offered | Optional |
| Fuel | Not included | Not stated |
| Reviews on GetYourGuide | None | 1 (5.0/5) |
Compared with the tiki boat, the pontoon wins on slides and the tiki boat wins on flexibility, since only the tiki boat offers a captain. With no reviews at all for the pontoon, I would take the tiki boat unless the slides are the whole point.
$1,327 was the average spend per person per trip for Florida Keys visitors in 2024, with lodging taking 56%.
Against a trip budget that size, $54 each for a private afternoon is modest, while an unexpected fuel bill and a damage deposit are the lines to clarify.
When is the best time to rent the pontoon?
March is the driest month, with 4.3 rain days on average, and September the wettest, with 19.3, so a spring weekday gives the best odds of a calm, dry swim stop.
| Month | Avg high 2025 / 2015-24 | Rain days (1 mm+) | Sunset (24h, local) | On the water |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan | 70°F / 73°F | 7.7 | 18:01 | Cool on the water; bring a windbreaker |
| Feb | 75°F / 74°F | 6.2 | 18:22 | Mild; a light layer for the ride back |
| Mar | 75°F / 76°F | 4.3 | 19:37 | Mild; a light layer for the ride back |
| Apr | 78°F / 78°F | 6.9 | 19:50 | Mild; a light layer for the ride back |
| May | 82°F / 81°F | 10.8 | 20:04 | Warm; hat and sunscreen |
| Jun | 84°F / 84°F | 16.3 | 20:18 | Warm; hat and sunscreen |
| Jul | 86°F / 85°F | 15.1 | 20:19 | Hot; shade and water on the open deck |
| Aug | 87°F / 86°F | 17.8 | 20:02 | Hot; shade and water on the open deck |
| Sep | 85°F / 85°F | 19.3 | 19:32 | Warm; hat and sunscreen |
| Oct | 83°F / 82°F | 16.0 | 19:01 | Warm; hat and sunscreen |
| Nov | 77°F / 79°F | 8.6 | 17:41 | Mild; a light layer for the ride back |
| Dec | 76°F / 75°F | 7.4 | 17:42 | Mild; a light layer for the ride back |
From June to October highs reach 83 to 87°F and rain falls on 15 to 19 days a month. A double-decker pontoon has no walls, so a squall soaks the upper deck. The next public holidays are Veterans Day on 11 November and Thanksgiving on 26 November, per the Nager.Date API, so book early for those weekends.
What do renters say about the pontoon?
Nothing yet: GetYourGuide shows no rating and no written reviews for this listing, so condition, handover and fuel pricing cannot be judged from customer feedback.
That makes this the least proven listing among the 13 I track for Key West. The same operator's tiki boat has a single 5.0/5 rating, which is also thin. Ask for photos of the exact boat, and look up the marina on Google Maps for independent reviews, and plan any beach stop with the Smathers Beach or Mallory Square pins in mind.

Who should skip the Beach Weekend pontoon boat rental?
Skip it if nobody can drive a pontoon with confidence, if your group is smaller than eight, or if you want a narrated cruise.
- First-time skippers: the listing asks for medium to advanced skill and offers no captain.
- Small groups: below 10 people a shared trip costs less per person.
- Sightseers: the Key West catamaran tours include crew and commentary.
- Anyone near the weight limit: 2,300 lb is a hard cap, so count gear and coolers too.
The full range is on the Key West boat tours hub, and for an evening on the water without driving, my pick is a sunset sail rather than a rental.
How do I book the Beach Weekend pontoon boat?
Booking goes through GetYourGuide with free cancellation until 24 hours before the start and pay-later available. Pick your date and slide layout, then email the operator about fuel, the dock and the real passenger limit.
How do you book the Beach Weekend pontoon boat?
Beach Weekend pontoon boat: from $700 for a self-drive double-decker with two or three slides, 4 to 8 hours, free cancellation until 24 hours before.
Check availabilityI earn a commission if you book through this link, at no extra cost to you.
Frequently asked questions
How much does the Beach Weekend pontoon boat cost?
It costs from $700 for the whole boat for 4 to 8 hours, which is $53.85 per person for 13 people, and fuel is extra.
How many people fit on the pontoon?
The description says 13, a highlight says 15, and the safety note allows 15 people or 2,300 lb, so confirm the limit with Beach Weekend.
Is a captain included?
No captain option is listed, and the listing asks for medium to advanced boat operating skills, so someone in your group has to drive.
Do I need a boating licence?
Florida has no boating licence, but anyone born on or after 1 January 1988 who drives a motor of 10 horsepower or more needs the FWC boating safety ID card or a recent course certificate.
Is fuel included?
No, the listing says fuel is not included and gives no price.
How many slides does the pontoon have?
You can choose a layout with two slides or three.
Where does the pontoon leave from?
The listing does not say, but the same operator’s tiki boat listing gives Beach Weekend Marina at 24.57414, -81.734295, so confirm the dock before you go.
How big are the coolers?
The listing includes two 70-quart coolers.
Is the pontoon wheelchair accessible?
The listing marks it as wheelchair accessible, so ask the operator how boarding works for your chair.
What is the cancellation policy?
You can cancel free up to 24 hours before the start for a full refund.
Are there reviews of the pontoon?
No, GetYourGuide shows no rating or review for this listing at the time of checking.
Do I need a dive flag to snorkel from the pontoon?
Yes, NOAA prohibits snorkeling in the Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary without a dive flag, and the listing does not mention one on board.
Sources: Listing data from GetYourGuide (product 606133; marina coordinates from product 1028980); FWC Boating Safety Education ID Card; FWC livery regulations; NOAA Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary regulations; City of Key West bus fares; Monroe County TDC 2024 Visitor Profile Study; Open-Meteo archive API; sunrise-sunset.org API; Nager.Date API; OSRM routing. Back to Harbour Advisor.



