Sebago Snorkel Seafood Boil in Key West: 4-Hour Catamaran with Open Bar
Quick answer
The Sebago snorkel seafood boil costs $70 per person, runs 4 hours from the Historic Seaport and includes two snorkel stops, an all-you-can-eat shrimp boil and an open bar.
Gratuity is extra and weather can cut the trip short; GetYourGuide shows 4.7/5 from 21 reviews, with departure times visible only after you pick a date.

Sebago Watersports
Catamaran Snorkel with Seafood Boil and Open Bar
4.7 (21) · from $70
The Sebago snorkel seafood boil is a 4-hour catamaran trip from Key West's Historic Seaport that combines two snorkel stops with an all-you-can-eat shrimp boil and a premium open bar. It costs $70 per person (listed from $69.95), which works out to about $17.49 for every hour on the water.
What changes the decision is the weather clause hiding in the reviews: a trip that turns back early because of storms is a real possibility from June to October, when Key West logs 15 to 19 rain days a month. If your dates fall in that window, book a flexible day and read the cancellation terms below first.



| Operator | Sebago Watersports (activity provider on GetYourGuide) |
|---|---|
| Boat | Catamaran with spacious decks, seating and shaded areas; passenger capacity not stated |
| Price | $70 per person (from $69.95 on GetYourGuide, USD) |
| Duration | 4 hours |
| Departure times | Not stated on the listing - pick a date on GetYourGuide to see the slots |
| Meeting point | Seaport dock, Lazy Way Lane |
| Route | Two snorkel stops; the listing names Sand Key as an example or "another nearby location" |
| Food and drinks | Unlimited shrimp boil, plus a premium bar |
| Languages | English |
| Cancellation | Free up to 24 hours before the start for a full refund; reserve now, pay later |
| Rating | 4.7/5 from 21 reviews on GetYourGuide (checked 2026-10-17) |
What is the Sebago snorkel seafood boil trip and what do you get?
You get a half-day catamaran outing built around two things that most Key West snorkel boats sell separately: a shrimp boil on deck and unlimited drinks. Snorkel gear and guides are in the price, and gratuity is the only listed extra.
The food is a Low Country boil: shrimp, corn and potatoes cooked in one pot with a spice blend, as the listing describes it. "Typically" in that description means the contents can change on the day. One happy reviewer still rated the boil good for the price, not the best they had eaten.
- Two snorkel stops with premium gear and guides who teach beginners.
- Seafood boil served after the snorkeling, with refills.
- Premium open bar through the trip; the listing gives no age limit, so ask Sebago about its 21+ rule before bringing teenagers.
- Shade and seating on a catamaran that reviewers describe as bigger than they expected.
I'd frame it as a party-leaning snorkel trip rather than a quiet nature tour. If wildlife is the point, the Key West snorkeling tours page sorts the options by what you want to see.
Where does the Sebago catamaran leave from?
It leaves from the Harborwalk of the Key West Historic Seaport, with the meeting point pinned at 24.560629, -81.802249. Sebago meeting point on Google Maps.
Sebago's shop is on Lazy Way Lane, one lane in from Elizabeth Street and past Schooner Wharf Bar if you approach from William Street. Google Maps also lists a Sebago Watersports office at 205 Elizabeth Street, a few steps away, so follow the pin above rather than the street address alone.
| From the Seaport meeting point to | Walking time | Distance |
|---|---|---|
| Duval Street at Front Street | 7 min | 542 m |
| Key West Aquarium | 9 min | 687 m |
| Mallory Square | 10 min | 727 m |
Be at the dock 30 minutes before sailing; a 10 a.m. departure means 9:30. Parking is not mentioned. Key West's city bus costs $2 for an adult one-way according to the City of Key West fare page (rates from July 2025), but the Duval Loop's status is unclear, so walking from Old Town is the safer plan.
What happens during the 4 hours?
The listing gives an order of events but no clock times: sail out, snorkel at two sites, then eat and drink on deck. Plan on the stated 4 hours door to dock, including the 30-minute check-in.
| Stage | What the listing says | What to ask |
|---|---|---|
| Check in | Arrive 30 minutes before departure; bring a passport or ID card | Which departure times run on your date |
| Sail out | Catamaran with deck seating and shade | Where the shade sits if you burn easily |
| Snorkel | Two stops; Sand Key or a nearby site; gear and guides provided | Which sites are used that day |
| Boil and bar | Seafood boil after snorkeling, premium open bar | Drink limits and age rule |
| Return | Back at the Seaport | Whether late sailings finish after sunset |
Where do you snorkel, and what rules apply on the reef?
The listing says Sand Key or another nearby reef, and it does not promise a fixed pair of sites. Sand Key is a Sanctuary Preservation Area inside the Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary (Sand Key on Google Maps), where NOAA lists the following rules.
- Dive flag: snorkeling without a dive flag is prohibited sanctuary-wide, and boats must go idle speed within 300 feet of a divers-down flag.
- Coral: touching or standing on living or dead coral is prohibited in Preservation Areas.
- Discharge and fishing: no discharge except cooling water, and no fishing by any means in these areas.
The crew handles the flag and the boat. Your job is to stay off the coral, so wear a rash guard or a shorty if you cannot hold a position in the water without kicking. Details are on the NOAA Florida Keys sanctuary regulations page.
One reviewer from March wrote that the reef was recovering and that they saw turtles and sharks, which fits a reef stop rather than a guaranteed sighting. The listing makes no wildlife promise, and neither do I.
What is included and what costs extra?
Almost everything is covered: food, drinks, gear and instruction are in the $70, and gratuity is the only item the listing marks as not included.
| Item | Status | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Seafood boil | Included | All you can eat, per the listing |
| Open bar | Included | Described as premium; no brand list |
| Snorkel gear | Included | Described as premium gear |
| Guides | Included | Instruction for all experience levels |
| Gratuity | Not included | Cash or card tip for the crew |
| Towel, sunscreen, hat | Bring your own | The listing suggests swimwear, a towel, snacks and water too |
One reviewer says booking directly with the company was cheaper than the marketplace. I cannot confirm that, so compare the two prices on your date before paying either.

How does it compare with other Key West snorkel trips?
At $17.49 an hour, this trip is among the cheapest per hour of the 13 Key West boat listings I track, behind only one 3-hour reef snorkel at $16.33 an hour.
| Trip | Operator | Price | Duration | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sebago snorkel seafood boil (this page) | Sebago Watersports | $70 | 4 h | 4.7/5 |
| Reef snorkeling with drinks and sunset option | Fury Water Adventures | $49 | 3 h | 4.5/5 |
| Dolphin watching and snorkeling eco cruise | Fury Water Adventures | $73 | 3 h | 4.6/5 |
| Afternoon sail, snorkel, kayak and sunset | Danger Charters | $134 | 4.5 h | 4.8/5 |
| Afternoon catamaran sail and dolphin watch | Sebago Watersports | $50 | 2.5 h | 4.4/5 |
If you want a shorter, no-snorkel sail from the same operator, the 2.5-hour Sebago afternoon sail is $20 cheaper but has no food or reef stop listed. The wider range is on the Key West catamaran tours page.
Is the Sebago snorkel seafood boil worth it?
For one afternoon of snorkeling plus a meal and drinks, I'd book it: $70 replaces what would be a snorkel ticket, lunch and a few cocktails, and the 4.7/5 rating comes with sub-scores of 5.0 for the guide, 5.0 for transport and 4.9 for value.
5.6 nights was the average length of stay for Florida Keys visitors in 2024, so one weather cancellation can eat a large share of a trip.
That statistic is why I'd book early in your stay: a rained-out day on night four leaves little room to rebook. The sample is small, with 21 ratings, so treat 4.7 as encouraging rather than settled.
When is the best time to book the Sebago snorkel seafood boil?
November to May is the drier half of the year, with 4 to 11 rain days a month, while September and October each logged 19 and 16 rain days of 1 mm or more in the 2015-2024 average.
| Month | Avg high 2025 / 2015-24 | Rain days (1 mm+) | Sunset (24h, local) | On the water |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan | 70°F / 73°F | 7.7 | 18:01 | Cool on the water; bring a windbreaker |
| Feb | 75°F / 74°F | 6.2 | 18:22 | Mild; a light layer for the ride back |
| Mar | 75°F / 76°F | 4.3 | 19:37 | Mild; a light layer for the ride back |
| Apr | 78°F / 78°F | 6.9 | 19:50 | Mild; a light layer for the ride back |
| May | 82°F / 81°F | 10.8 | 20:04 | Warm; hat and sunscreen |
| Jun | 84°F / 84°F | 16.3 | 20:18 | Warm; hat and sunscreen |
| Jul | 86°F / 85°F | 15.1 | 20:19 | Hot; shade and water on the open deck |
| Aug | 87°F / 86°F | 17.8 | 20:02 | Hot; shade and water on the open deck |
| Sep | 85°F / 85°F | 19.3 | 19:32 | Warm; hat and sunscreen |
| Oct | 83°F / 82°F | 16.0 | 19:01 | Warm; hat and sunscreen |
| Nov | 77°F / 79°F | 8.6 | 17:41 | Mild; a light layer for the ride back |
| Dec | 76°F / 75°F | 7.4 | 17:42 | Mild; a light layer for the ride back |
Sunset sits near 5:40 PM in November and December and near 8:00 PM from May to August. A winter trip leaving after 2 p.m. can end in the dark, so check the return time.
What do passengers say about the Sebago trip?
Of the 16 reviews I could read, 14 are 4 or 5 stars with no complaints about the trip itself, and the crew is the most common theme by far.
- Crew: named individually in about half the reviews, described as attentive and funny.
- Value: several reviewers call the price fair for food, drinks and snorkeling together.
- Boat size: one reviewer found the boat bigger and the crowd larger than expected.
- Food: one reviewer rated the boil good but not the best they have had.
- Weather: one 2025 review reports storms forcing an early return, and one 2026 review reports a weather cancellation with the refund still pending.
The sample leans positive, since only 2 of 16 reviews carry a complaint, and both concern weather. I would not read the reviews as evidence that the crew is flawless, only that the typical trip works.

Who should skip the Sebago snorkel seafood boil?
Skip it if you want a quiet, small-group reef trip, if you avoid crowds, or if you cannot swim comfortably in open water.
- Quiet seekers: the open bar and a larger boat make this a social trip; the Key West boat tours hub lists calmer options.
- Seasick-prone travelers: a catamaran is steadier than a monohull, but storms led to a turn-back in one review.
- Non-swimmers: the listing does not say whether flotation is provided, so ask.
- Very young children: no age limits are stated; confirm with Sebago before booking.
How do I book the Sebago snorkel seafood boil?
Booking runs through GetYourGuide, and the free-cancellation window is 24 hours before the start. The listing also offers reserve now, pay later, so you can hold a slot without paying today.
How do you book the Sebago snorkel seafood boil?
Sebago snorkel seafood boil: $70 per person for 4 hours with two snorkel stops, a shrimp boil and an open bar, free cancellation until 24 hours before.
Check availabilityI earn a commission if you book through this link, at no extra cost to you.
Frequently asked questions
How much does the Sebago snorkel seafood boil cost?
It costs $70 per person (listed from $69.95) for 4 hours, with gear, food and drinks included and gratuity extra.
Where does the Sebago snorkel seafood boil leave from?
It leaves from the dock area of the Key West Historic Seaport, on Lazy Way Lane near Schooner Wharf Bar.
How long should I arrive before departure?
The listing asks you to arrive at least 30 minutes early, so plan for 4 hours on the trip plus check-in.
Is the seafood boil all you can eat?
Yes, the listing describes an all-you-can-eat Low Country boil with shrimp, corn and potatoes, though it says the menu typically contains these rather than guaranteeing them.
Is the open bar really unlimited?
The listing calls it a premium open bar but gives no drink limit or age rule, so ask Sebago about both before you book.
Where do you snorkel?
The listing names Sand Key or another nearby reef, and says the trip makes two stops.
Do I need snorkeling experience?
No, because the listing says gear and guides suit all experience levels, and a reviewer called it good for beginners.
What if the weather is bad?
Free cancellation applies up to 24 hours ahead, but one review reports a storm turn-back and another a weather cancellation with a delayed refund, so ask how Sebago handles refunds.
Is gratuity included?
No, gratuity is the one item the listing marks as not included.
What should I bring?
Bring a passport or ID card, swimwear, a towel, sunscreen, a hat, water and snacks; a waterproof camera is also suggested.
What language is the tour in?
The trip is run in English.
Do I have to pay now?
No, the listing offers reserve now, pay later, with free cancellation until 24 hours before the start.
Sources: Listing data from GetYourGuide (product 812970); NOAA Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary regulations; City of Key West bus fares; Monroe County TDC 2024 Visitor Profile Study; Open-Meteo archive API; sunrise-sunset.org API; Nager.Date API; OSRM foot routing. Back to Harbour Advisor.


