Outer Island Whale Tour: Orca and Humpback Trip from Anacortes, $119
Quick answer
The Outer Island whale tour is a 3.5-hour high-speed boat trip from Anacortes, 90 minutes north of Seattle, $119 per person with a guide.
It is not wheelchair accessible, pets are not allowed, and GetYourGuide rates it 4.8/5 from 632+ reviews.

Outer Island Excursions
Whale and Orca Boat Tour near Seattle
4.8 (632) · from $119
The Outer Island whale tour is the cheapest whale trip GetYourGuide sells under "near Seattle", and it does not start in Seattle at all: the boat leaves from Anacortes, about 90 minutes up the road, and heads into the San Juan Islands to find four whale species. GetYourGuide rates it 4.8 from 632 reviews, at $119 per person.
The fact that changes the decision is the drive from Seattle. The $119 fare comes with about three hours of road time round trip, plus a check-in 30 minutes early. My Seattle whale watching guide compares this with the departure that actually leaves from the downtown waterfront, and the home page lists other harbors.



| Operator | Outer Island Excursions, Anacortes (sold through GetYourGuide) |
|---|---|
| Boat type | High-speed vessel with an enclosed upper deck mentioned by a guest; capacity not stated |
| Price | $119 per person, taxes and fees included on the listing |
| Duration | 3.5 hours on the listing; the description says 3 to 4 hours |
| Departure times | Not stated; shown at checkout. Operator check-in starts 30 minutes before departure |
| Meeting point | Outer Island Excursions office, Skyline Way, Anacortes |
| Season | March to November, per the listing |
| Wildlife targeted | Orca, humpback, minke and gray whales, plus seals, sea lions, porpoises and eagles around the San Juan Islands |
| Languages | English |
| Cancellation | Free up to 2 days before, full refund |
| Rating | 4.8/5 from 632+ reviews on GetYourGuide |
What does the Outer Island whale tour show on the water?
It shows wildlife first and scenery second: orcas, humpbacks, minke and gray whales, then harbor seals, sea lions, porpoises and bald eagles around the San Juan Islands.
- Orcas: guests report pods of orcas on several recent dates, including three separate pods on one September trip.
- Humpbacks: two humpbacks and a six-orca pod appear in one late-September review.
- Smaller wildlife: seals, sea lions, porpoises, eagles and otters are listed as regular sightings.
- Landscape: a reviewer says the boat also went around Deception Pass, and the trip crosses the San Juan Islands.
The operator says whales are spotted on more than 95% of trips. Treat that as the operator's own figure, not an independent one: an October guest saw a single whale, and the listing carries no refund promise for a quiet day.
Where does the Outer Island whale tour leave from?
The Outer Island whale tour checks in at the operator's office at 2201 Skyline Way, Anacortes, Washington, on the ground floor of a yellow, red-roofed building beyond the Skyline Marine Center.
Parking is behind the office in a paid lot or free along the street. The operator's FAQ says check-in begins 30 minutes before departure, and the listing says no ferry is needed.
| Step | Detail | Map |
|---|---|---|
| Drive from Seattle | About 90 minutes north, per the listing | driving route |
| Check-in | Opens 30 minutes before departure at the office | Outer Island Excursions |
| Parking | Paid lot behind the building or free street parking | Skyline Marine Center |
How long is the trip and what is the season?
Plan for about 3.5 hours on the water and a season that runs from March to November, which means it is near its end on 17 October.
- Trip length: the listing says 3.5 hours; the description says 3 to 4 hours depending on where the whales are.
- Season: the description gives March to November, and the operator's FAQ says orcas live in the San Juan Islands all year while humpbacks, grays and minkes pass through in spring, summer and fall.
- Departure: no time is printed, so the slot appears when you pick a date.
I would add three hours of driving to the clock, so the whole outing is nearer an 8-hour day than a 3.5-hour tour. Free cancellation holds until 2 days before, which is longer than most Seattle harbor boats.
What is on board and what is included?
The fare covers the guide, the boat and, according to the listing, gratuities, while food and a ticket for pets are not part of it.
| Item | Status |
|---|---|
| Professional guide | Included |
| High-speed vessel | Included |
| Restroom on board | Yes, on every tour vessel per the operator |
| Gratuities | Listed as included; confirm |
| Pets | Not allowed |
| Wheelchair users | Not suitable, per the listing |
| Food and warm clothing | Bring your own |
A September guest recommended using the enclosed upper deck when the boat runs at full speed, which fits the operator's note that it is 10 to 15 degrees cooler on the water. The AI summary of 130 reviews adds that clearer advice on what to bring would help, so dress in layers and pack sunglasses and sunscreen.

How close can the boat get to the whales?
Washington law keeps boats at least 1,000 yards from endangered Southern Resident orcas, and at least 200 yards from other killer whales.
| Animal | Minimum distance | Other rule |
|---|---|---|
| Southern Resident killer whales | 1,000 yards | 7 knots or less inside that zone |
| Other killer whales | 200 yards | Keep out of their path |
| Other whales | 100 yards | None listed |
The rule is stated by WDFW and explains why photos from the boat are often long shots. It also means a "close" encounter usually comes from whales approaching the boat, not the other way round.
How does it compare with other whale watching trips near Seattle?
It is the lowest-priced whale trip in my data, and the only one besides the orca-only tour that departs from Anacortes.
| Tour | Price | Length | Rating | Pick it for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Outer Island whale tour | $119 | 3.5 h | 4.8 (632) | Cheapest, high-speed boat |
| Outer Island orca-only tour | $199 | 4 h | 4.7 (50) | Orca-focused trip, same operator |
| Blue Kingdom whale adventure | $149 | 3.5 h | 4.8 (76) | Zodiac-style boat |
| Clipper wildlife and whale cruise | $150 | 4 h | 4.5 (707) | Leaves from downtown Pier 69 |
If you do not have a car, the Clipper cruise from Pier 69 removes the drive for $31 more. If you have a car and want the lowest price, this one wins; the Seattle boat tours hub shows the rest of the options.
Is the Outer Island whale tour worth the drive from Seattle?
It is worth it when you have a car and a free day, because the $119 fare and 4.8 rating beat every other whale trip listed, but not for travelers tied to the downtown waterfront.
- For it: $34 per hour against a city median of $42.8, crew sub-scores of 4.9 and a value sub-score of 4.8.
- Against it: the 90-minute drive each way, and no sighting guarantee.
- Season: with the listing ending in November, an October or November date has fewer days left than a July one.
If sightings matter more than price, the operator's separate orca-only tour at $199 is the stronger bet. If you want to stay in the city, the whale watching page explains how the downtown option works.
When is the best time to go?
June to September combines the driest decks with the full list of species, while October and November bring 17 and 19 rain days.
| Month | Avg high 2025 | Rain days | In season | On the water |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan | 44 °F | 8 | Not listed | Dark early; heated indoor seats |
| Feb | 44 °F | 15 | Not listed | Cold and wet; dress in layers |
| Mar | 52 °F | 22 | Yes | Wettest month; rain gear |
| Apr | 57 °F | 11 | Yes | Showers; layers on deck |
| May | 61 °F | 11 | Yes | Mild; a jacket on deck |
| Jun | 67 °F | 5 | Yes | Dry and bright; light jacket |
| Jul | 72 °F | 1 | Yes | Driest month; sun on deck |
| Aug | 72 °F | 7 | Yes | Warm; sunglasses |
| Sep | 67 °F | 3 | Yes | Dry and mild; sunset gets earlier |
| Oct | 57 °F | 17 | Yes | Wet; sunset before 6:30 PM |
| Nov | 52 °F | 19 | Yes | Dark by 5 PM; dress warm |
| Dec | 48 °F | 22 | Not listed | Coldest and darkest; indoor seats |
- Dry spell: July 2025 had one rain day at Anacortes and August seven.
- Late season: October 2025 had 17 rain days, so a rain shell matters more than sun cream.
- Species: the operator says humpbacks, grays and minkes pass through in spring, summer and fall, while orcas stay all year.
1,000 yards is the distance Washington requires vessels to keep from Southern Resident killer whales, in force from 1 January 2025.
Check the National Weather Service Seattle forecast for wind on the day, since the operator says tours cancel only in severe weather.

What do passengers say?
Passengers praise the crew and the wildlife, and the one repeated caveat is that sightings vary by day.
- Crew: captains and guides are named in several of the ten reviews I read, with a guide sub-score of 4.9.
- Sightings: orcas, humpbacks, seals and eagles appear in most of the reviews; one guest saw a single whale.
- Comfort: the boat is described as comfortable and quick, with an enclosed upper deck mentioned once.
- Preparation: the AI summary of 130 reviews says guests wanted clearer advice on what to bring.
The sample I could read is all five-star, dated September and October 2026, so it leans positive. The 632-review score is the better guide to quality than my ten.
Who should skip this whale trip?
Skip it if you have no car, use a wheelchair, bring a pet, or need a guaranteed sighting.
- No car: the Clipper cruise from Pier 69 departs from the city.
- Wheelchair users: the listing marks the tour as not suitable.
- Pets: not allowed on board.
- Sea-sickness: the operator suggests a non-drowsy remedy the night before and the morning of; a fast boat in open water can move.
The hub lists calmer harbor options, and the Argosy harbor cruise is the easy alternative if the weather looks rough.
How do you book the Anacortes whale trip?
Choose a date on GetYourGuide, read the start time and the meeting point on your voucher, and plan the drive to Anacortes.
$119 per person buys a 3.5-hour guided whale and wildlife trip from Anacortes with free cancellation up to 2 days before.
Check availabilityI earn a commission if you book through this link, at no extra cost to you.
- Pick a date and note the start time.
- Leave Seattle at least two and a half hours before departure to allow for traffic and check-in.
- Bring layers, sunglasses and sunscreen.
- Check in at the office on Skyline Way 30 minutes early.
Outer Island Excursions FAQ
What is the best boat tour in Seattle?
For wildlife the best value is this $119 Anacortes trip at 4.8/5, while for a city skyline sail the Argosy harbor cruise at $43 is the usual pick.
Can you see whales from Seattle?
Yes, on 3 to 5 hour trips such as the Clipper cruise from Pier 69, but this tour starts in Anacortes, 90 minutes north.
How far is Anacortes from Seattle?
The listing puts Anacortes about 90 minutes north of Seattle by road, and no ferry is needed to reach the dock.
How long is the Outer Island whale tour?
The listing says 3.5 hours, and the description says 3 to 4 hours depending on where the whales are.
What time should I check in?
The operator's FAQ says check-in begins 30 minutes before departure; your voucher shows the departure time.
When is whale watching season?
The listing gives March to November, and the operator says orcas stay in the San Juan Islands all year.
Is the tour wheelchair accessible?
No, the listing marks it as not suitable for wheelchair users, and pets are not allowed.
Are tips included?
The listing lists gratuities among the inclusions, but ask the crew to confirm since the box is also used for exclusions.
What should I wear?
Wear layers: the operator says boats feel 10 to 15 degrees cooler on the water, and recommends sunglasses and sunscreen.
Can I cancel for free?
Yes, up to 2 days before for a full refund on the GetYourGuide booking; the operator's own terms differ, so rely on the voucher.
Sources: GetYourGuide listing 590931 (read 2026-10-17); Outer Island Excursions FAQ; Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife, orca regulations; National Weather Service Seattle; Open-Meteo and Nager.Date APIs.


