Outer Island Orca Tour from Anacortes: 4-Hour Bigg's Orca Boat Trip Near Seattle, $199
Quick answer
The Outer Island orca tour costs $199 per person on GetYourGuide for about 4 hours on a high-speed boat from Anacortes, with a marine naturalist and tips included.
It is the priciest whale boat I list, rated 4.7/5 from 50+ reviews, and the "guaranteed" in its title is not a refund promise.

Outer Island Excursions
Orca Whales Guaranteed Boat Tour near Seattle
4.7 (50) · from $199
The Outer Island orca tour is a four-hour fast-boat search for killer whales from Anacortes, about a drive north of Seattle, and it is the only whale trip I list that is built around orcas first and everything else second. Outer Island Excursions runs it from a marina office, and GetYourGuide sells it as a Seattle day trip.
The detail that changes the decision is the word "guaranteed". The listing's title says orcas are guaranteed, but its own text only cites a 98 percent success rate for spotting whales and says other species may appear. I'd read that as a very likely sighting, not a promise, and I'd ask the operator what happens on the other 2 percent.
My whale watching in Seattle guide ranks all the wildlife boats, the Seattle boat tours hub shows the harbor cruises, and the home page lists the other cities.



| Operator | Outer Island Excursions (sold through GetYourGuide) |
|---|---|
| Boat | High-speed vessel; the listing gives no capacity or boat name |
| Price | From $199 per person |
| Duration | 4 hours on the listing, described in its text as 3 to 5 hours |
| Departure times | Not stated; the booking calendar shows them |
| Meeting point | Outer Island office at Skyline Marine Center, Anacortes; lower level of the tan building |
| Area | Salish Sea around the San Juan Islands, following the orcas |
| Included | High-speed vessel, guided by a marine naturalist, tips listed as included |
| Languages | English |
| Cancellation | Free up to 2 days before, full refund |
| Rating | 4.7/5 from 50+ reviews on GetYourGuide |
What does the Outer Island orca tour promise and what does it deliver?
It promises a hunt for the region's Bigg's orcas, and reviewers report finding two to nine animals in a single trip.
- Orcas: a September guest counted nine, another watched two near the San Juan Islands, and a June guest said the orcas turned up right away.
- Other wildlife: sea lions, seals, a sea otter and a humpback whale are mentioned alongside the orcas.
- Extended time: an August guest said the captain stretched the trip to make sure the group saw orcas.
The listing focuses on Bigg's killer whales, the mammal-eating population. The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife says they hunt seals and other marine mammals and that the population ranges from southeast Alaska to California.
500+ whales make up the west coast transient (Bigg's) population, which is near carrying capacity and still growing.
Is "orca whales guaranteed" a real guarantee?
No: the listing states a 98 percent success rate for spotting whales, and it never describes a refund or a re-run if you see none.
The title and the text disagree, so I trust the text. It says you may also meet other whale species and wildlife, and it frames the 98 percent as the provider's record, not a contract term. The cancellation rule is the only refund wording: free cancellation up to 2 days before, full refund.
Where does the Outer Island orca tour leave from?
It leaves from Anacortes: the check-in office sits on the lower level of a tan building near the Skyline Marine Center.
The listing gives no drive time from Seattle, so I'd open the driving route on Google Maps for your departure time. Parking is behind the office in a paid lot, with free street parking nearby, and the Skyline Marine Center on Google Maps marks the spot.
- Book the Anacortes departure. One reviewer booked a second Outer Island trip and found it needed a ferry to reach the meeting point, so check the address on your voucher.
- Find the right building. Look for the tan building and its red roof, beyond the marine center.
- Park behind the office. The lot there is paid; the street spaces are free.
- Check in early. The listing gives no check-in time, so ask the operator and plan for at least 30 minutes on top of your drive.
The same marina holds Blue Kingdom's zodiac trip, so don't mix up the two offices when you park. See the Skyline Marina on Google Maps before you drive up.
What is included and what do you bring?
You get a seat on the fast boat and a marine naturalist, and the listing says tips are included.
| Item | Status | Note |
|---|---|---|
| High-speed vessel | Included | No capacity stated |
| Marine naturalist guide | Included | English-speaking |
| Tips | Listed as included | Confirm at checkout |
| Warm clothing | Bring your own | The listing says to bring it; the crew's loan gear is not mentioned |
| Food and drink | Not stated | Ask the operator before you leave |
| Smoking | Not allowed | Banned on board |
The missing line is protective clothing. Blue Kingdom lends a suit, but this listing only says to bring warm clothing, and a September guest advised a heavy coat for the wind. Dress as if the boat is cold and open.

How close can the boat get to orcas?
The boat can't legally approach any killer whale within 200 yards in Washington's inland waters, so the best views come when the animals travel toward you.
NOAA Fisheries states the 200-yard limit. The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife adds that boaters must stay 1,000 yards from the endangered Southern Resident orcas from January 2025 onward. That wider limit applies to the Southern Residents, and the listing names Bigg's orcas as its target.
When is the best time for an Outer Island orca tour?
July is the driest month in the 2025 data, with one rain day, while December shows 21 rain days and the strongest wind.
| Month | Average high | Rain days | Average daily peak wind | On the water |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January | 44 °F | 8 | 10 mph | Dress for freezing spray |
| February | 44 °F | 14 | 13 mph | Cold, wet |
| March | 52 °F | 20 | 14 mph | Wettest month, rain gear |
| April | 57 °F | 9 | 14 mph | Cold wind, layers |
| May | 60 °F | 13 | 12 mph | Mild, layers |
| June | 66 °F | 5 | 11 mph | Drier, still cool at speed |
| July | 70 °F | 1 | 12 mph | Calmest, warmest |
| August | 71 °F | 8 | 10 mph | Warm, sun cream |
| September | 67 °F | 4 | 10 mph | Good light |
| October | 57 °F | 15 | 13 mph | Cold, wet, short days |
| November | 52 °F | 17 | 12 mph | Cold, wet, early dark |
| December | 48 °F | 21 | 17 mph | Windiest, darkest |
The listing says the orca population can be found year-round, and it doesn't state a closed season. That is unlike the Blue Kingdom zodiac, which stops after October, so a winter orca trip is possible here but cold. A December trip means a 50 °F average high and about 17 mph daily peak wind in the 2025 data.
How does it compare with the cheaper whale boats?
It costs $80 more than Outer Island's own whale and orca trip, and it adds a half hour and a sharper orca focus.
| Tour | Leaves from | Length | Price | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Outer Island orca-only (this page) | Anacortes | 4 h | $199 | 4.7 (50) |
| Outer Island whale and orca | Anacortes | 3.5 h | $119 | 4.8 (632) |
| Blue Kingdom zodiac | Anacortes | 3.5 h | $149 | 4.8 (76) |
| Clipper wildlife and whale cruise | Seattle Pier 69 | 4 h | $150 | 4.5 (707) |
The cheaper Outer Island trip has more than twelve times as many reviews and a higher average, so it carries less risk. This orca-only version rests on its focus. If the aim is any whale at the lowest price, book the $119 trip; if it is orcas above all, the $199 trip is the sharper choice.
Is the Outer Island orca tour worth $199 against the cheaper whale boat?
It is worth it only if you want the orca-first itinerary and are prepared to drive to Anacortes; for most visitors the $119 sibling is the better value.
- Worth it for orca fans on one trip - the whole 4 hours is aimed at Bigg's whales, and reviewers report two to nine animals.
- Worth it for a gift trip - tips are listed as included, so there is no cash to hand over.
- Not worth it on a budget - $50 an hour is 16 percent above the $43 median here.
- Not worth it if you need certainty - the guarantee wording is soft.
For one half day with orcas as the target, I'd book this boat in summer, when the data shows the most settled weather. For a looser "any whales" outing I'd save the $80.

What do passengers say about this Outer Island trip?
The 50 reviews on GetYourGuide average 4.7/5, with the guide at 4.8, transportation at 4.9 and value at 4.7.
- Crew: guides and captain are called knowledgeable and friendly in most reviews.
- Sightings: orcas in every review I could read, plus humpback, sea lions and a sea otter.
- Families: a June guest called the crew kid-friendly and the drive from Seattle worth it.
- Logistics: one guest learned about the ferry issue on a different Outer Island trip.
Every review I could read scores 5 stars, so treat the sample as positive-only; the 4.7 average implies a few lower scores I couldn't see.
Who should skip this orca-only boat?
Skip it if you want certainty, a cheap outing or a meal, because the listing promises no refund for a miss and sells no food.
- Tight budgets: the $119 Outer Island trip covers most of the same water.
- Short itineraries: 4 hours plus the drive to Anacortes uses most of a day.
- Anyone who needs facilities: the listing doesn't mention a restroom or food, so ask.
- Non-drivers: the listing offers no public transport route.
If a harbor outing suits you better, the Seattle boat tours hub lists the Pier 55 cruises and dinner boats.
How do you book the orca-only boat?
This orca trip costs from $199 per person on GetYourGuide, with free cancellation up to 2 days before and a marine naturalist on board.
Check availabilityI earn a commission if you book through this link, at no extra cost to you.
Frequently asked questions
Are orcas really guaranteed on the Outer Island trip?
No, the listing text cites a 98 percent success rate for whales and describes no refund, so treat "guaranteed" in the title as marketing.
How long is the orca-only trip?
The listing says 4 hours, and its description says 3 to 5 hours, depending on where the whales are.
Where does the orca-only trip start?
It starts at the operator's office in Anacortes, in the marina area at Skyline Way, on the ground level of a tan building with a red roof.
What is the best time of year for whale watching near Seattle?
July had the fewest rain days in 2025 (1), and the listing says orcas are present year-round, so winter trips are possible but cold.
How much does an orca watching trip near Seattle cost?
From $43 to $445 on this site; the Outer Island orca-only tour is $199 and the standard Outer Island whale tour is $119.
What kind of orcas will I see?
The listing targets Bigg's orcas, the mammal-eating population, which the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife says numbers over 500 along the coast.
Is the tip included?
The listing says tips are included, but confirm at checkout because other operators treat tips as extra.
Do I need to take a ferry?
Not for this Anacortes departure, but one reviewer booked a different Outer Island trip that required a ferry, so read your voucher.
What should I wear?
Wear warm layers and a windproof coat; a September guest advised a heavy coat against the wind.
How close will the boat get to the orcas?
No closer than 200 yards by federal rule in Washington's inland waters, and 1,000 yards from the Southern Resident orcas.
Sources: GetYourGuide listing 607629 (read 2026-10-17); Outer Island Excursions' own site did not load as text in my check, so operator details come from the listing; Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife, killer whale; NOAA Fisheries, killer whale; Open-Meteo archive and sunrise-sunset.org APIs.


