Prince of Whales Covered Catamaran: Whale and Wildlife Tour from Granville Island
Quick answer
The Prince of Whales covered catamaran sails from Granville Island for $181, runs 3 to 5 hours and holds 4.8/5 from 3,141+ GetYourGuide reviews.
Hot drinks and a photo package are included, while hotel pickup, snacks and tips are not, and the listing gives no fixed departure time.

PRINCE OF WHALES
Whale & Wildlife Watching Tour with Free Photos
4.8 (3,141) · from $181
The Prince of Whales covered catamaran is a shared whale and wildlife cruise that boards at Granville Island, in the middle of Vancouver, and covers the Strait of Georgia in 3 to 5 hours for $181 per person. It is the most-reviewed boat trip I list for the city: 3,141 reviews at 4.8/5.
The detail that changes the decision is the boat itself. The Prince of Whales covered catamaran is a covered, multi-level catamaran with a heated cabin, so a wet October sailing is more bearable than on the open boats. The trade-off is noise: the platform's own review summary says wind and engine noise can drown out the talks on deck.
If you are still choosing between boats, my guide to whale watching in Vancouver compares every sailing, and the full list sits on the Vancouver boat tours hub. For other cities, start from the Harbour Advisor home page.
| Operator | Prince of Whales (whale and marine wildlife adventures), sold through GetYourGuide |
|---|---|
| Boat | Custom-built covered catamaran, three viewing levels per the operator, heated cabin per the listing; passenger capacity not stated |
| Price | $181 per person (about CAD 256 at 1 USD = 1.4161 CAD) |
| Duration | 3 to 5 hours depending on weather and whale activity; one reviewer logged a full 6 hours |
| Departure times | Not stated on the listing: the calendar shows them once you pick a date |
| Check-in | Adventure Centre (Granville Island), Google Maps |
| Route | Strait of Georgia and the Gulf Islands, with Howe Sound and the San Juan Islands named as possible waters |
| Food and drink | Hot coffee, tea and cocoa included; snacks sold on board |
| Languages | English commentary; downloadable guides in Spanish, French, German and Dutch |
| Cancellation | Free up to 24 hours before the start, full refund |
| Rating | 4.8/5 from 3,141+ reviews on GetYourGuide |



What is the Prince of Whales covered catamaran whale and wildlife tour?
It is a guided marine wildlife cruise on a large catamaran with a heated indoor cabin and outside decks on more than one level, built to find orcas, humpbacks and seals in the waters west of Vancouver.
The operator describes the vessel as custom-built, with three viewing elevations and two airline-style washrooms. The listing adds that you can stay indoors or walk out to one of three viewing areas spread over two levels, which are the best spots for photographs. Capacity is not published anywhere I checked, so I cannot tell you how crowded the rail gets.
Sightings come from the species mix the operator names: orcas and humpbacks most often, gray and minke whales occasionally, plus sea lions, harbour seals, otters, bald eagles and dolphins. The listing also names minke and gray whales, porpoises and seals, which matches the operator (Prince of Whales Vancouver page).
- Covered catamaran with a heated cabin and outside decks
- Live commentary from the crew, plus a kids' naturalist guide
- Free photo package taken by the crew
- Replacement trip if no whales are seen on the first sailing
Where does the Prince of Whales catamaran leave from?
Check-in is at the operator's Adventure Centre in the Granville Island market district, beside a gift shop called Kasandy and across from the yellow Bridges Restaurant building, and you board from there.
The centre sits at 1666 Duranleau Street. The nearest SkyTrain stop I could route from is Broadway-City Hall: 35 minutes on foot (2.6 km), so most visitors take a bus or ride-hail. TransLink lists the adult cash fare at $3.50 CAD, valid for 90 minutes (TransLink fares, checked 2026-10-17).
| Option | What the data says | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Walk from Broadway-City Hall | 2.6 km, about 35 minutes (OSRM foot routing) | Free |
| Bus or SkyTrain plus bus | Valid 90 minutes on one-zone fare; check the stop on the TransLink planner | $3.50 CAD cash, adult |
| Taxi or ride-hail | Not covered by the listing | Not stated |
| Walk from Granville Island Public Market | Link only: short walk across the island, no routed estimate Open walking route | Free |
| Hotel pickup | Appears in the includes list, but the meeting point is the Adventure Centre; I treat it as not included | Ask the operator |
Arrive with margin. The listing does not state a boarding time, so read the confirmation email for the check-in window, and allow time to find parking if you drive.
What is the route and how long is the trip?
The trip heads out through the Strait of Georgia toward the Gulf Islands and the waters where whales have been reported that day, and it lasts 3 to 5 hours, with the captain deciding the exact course.
The listing names three areas: the Gulf Islands, the San Juan Islands and Howe Sound. It does not publish a stop-by-stop route, which is normal for wildlife trips because the boat follows the animals. For that reason I would treat 5 hours as the planning number and a shorter return as a bonus.
| Phase | What happens | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Check-in | Report to the Adventure Centre on Granville Island | Listing meeting point |
| Crossing | High-speed catamaran runs into the Strait of Georgia | Listing description |
| Wildlife search | Captain and naturalists track whales, seals and seabirds | Listing and operator page |
| Return | Back to Granville Island; photos are shared after the trip, according to reviewers | Review pattern |
When does the Prince of Whales catamaran sail?
The operator runs half-day whale watching from March to November and a sunset whale watch from June to August, while the broader whale season is April to October with the peak between May and September.
Those dates come from the operator's own Vancouver page (princeofwhales.com). It lists the half-day trip from CAD $229 per adult and the sunset trip from CAD $239, both subject to seasonal pricing.
The GetYourGuide price of $181 converts to about CAD 256, so compare like with like before you book. Neither the operator page nor the listing publishes departure times, so I cannot give you a clock time.
What is on board and what is included?
On the Prince of Whales covered catamaran, included are the live commentary, a crew guide, a photo package, hot drinks and a replacement trip if no whales appear; not included are snacks, tips and, as far as I can tell, hotel transfers.
| Item | Status | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Live commentary and guide | Included | Crew naturalists; reviewers praise the knowledge |
| Photo package | Included | The crew photographs wildlife and guests |
| Hot drinks | Included | Coffee, tea and hot cocoa |
| Whale sighting guarantee | Included | A repeat trip if none are seen; the operator says it does not expire |
| Snacks | Not included | Sold on board |
| Gratuities | Not included | Optional |
| Hotel pickup | Not included in practice | Listed under includes but the meeting point is the Adventure Centre |
| Alcohol | Not allowed | Listed under prohibited items |
The prohibited list is useful to read before you pack: baby strollers, smoking, vaping, drones, fireworks, drugs and alcohol, and touching animals. Wear closed-toe shoes and warm clothes, as the listing asks.

How do the whale rules shape the trip?
Canadian rules keep boats at least 100 metres from most whales and 200 metres from whales that are resting or have a calf, and southern resident killer whales get a 1,000 metre buffer in southern B.C.
Those distances come from Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO 2026 management measures), which notes the 1,000 metre limit is an interim order running until 31 May 2027.
The animals decide how close they come, so a bigger boat is not a disadvantage. If a southern resident pod is the only group around, expect to watch from far away; the repeat-trip guarantee is the safety net. I checked these figures on 2026-10-17 and the order can change.
How does it compare with other Vancouver whale trips?
This is the most expensive of the three Vancouver whale trips I compare, at $181, but it is the only one with a heated indoor cabin and a three-level deck.
| Trip | Price | Duration | Boat and start | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prince of Whales covered catamaran (this page) | $181 | 3-5 h | Covered catamaran, Granville Island | 4.8/5, 3,141+ |
| Vancouver Whale Watch, Steveston zodiac trip | $155 | 3-5 h | Large zodiac, Richmond office | 4.7/5, 516+ |
| Wild Whales, open-air Granville Island trip | $166 | 3-5 h | Open-air boat, Granville Island | 4.8/5, 202+ |
| Vancouver Water Adventures, city and seals | $77 | 1.5 h | Zodiac, Granville Island | 4.8/5, 430+ |
If rain is in the forecast, I would pick the Prince of Whales covered catamaran. If you want an open deck and the lowest price, I would look at the Richmond trip, which also starts about 30 minutes from downtown by road according to one reviewer.
Is the Prince of Whales whale watching cruise worth it vs the other boats?
For a cold or wet day, the Prince of Whales covered catamaran is worth it: you pay $181 mainly for the cabin, the free photos and the repeat-trip guarantee, and the sub-scores back it with 4.9 for guide and 4.9 for transportation.
The value score is lower, 4.6, which is where the price shows. At $36 per hour the trip sits below the $44/h median of the 11 timed Vancouver trips I compare, though the Steveston zodiac at $31 per hour and the open-air boat at $33 per hour are cheaper.
My recommendation: I'd book the covered boat for a family with young children, older adults or anyone who gets cold quickly. For photographers who want to shoot over a low rail, I'd look at the open-air boat on the same dock.
11.3 million overnight visitors came to Vancouver in 2025, so peak-season boats fill early.
When is the best time to take the Prince of Whales catamaran?
The best months are May to September, when the operator calls the season peak, the average high is 16 to 22 degrees and rain falls on 5 to 12 days a month.
| Month | Avg high | Rain days | Sunset | On the water |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan | 6.5°C | 18.5 | 4:44 PM | Cold and wet; full waterproofs |
| Feb | 6.5°C | 16.5 | 5:34 PM | Cold; whales are scarce, check the schedule |
| Mar | 9.2°C | 16.6 | 7:19 PM | Cool; first cruises, layers and gloves |
| Apr | 12.0°C | 15.3 | 8:06 PM | Cool; spring sailings start, dress warm |
| May | 16.4°C | 9.0 | 8:51 PM | Mild and drier; peak whale season begins |
| Jun | 19.3°C | 10.0 | 9:21 PM | Long evenings; sunset sailings possible |
| Jul | 22.4°C | 4.9 | 9:15 PM | Driest month; sun hat and sunscreen |
| Aug | 22.5°C | 6.4 | 8:30 PM | Warmest; best odds of a dry deck |
| Sep | 18.3°C | 11.8 | 7:27 PM | Still mild; rain returns late |
| Oct | 13.2°C | 15.6 | 6:23 PM | Wet again; cabin seats matter |
| Nov | 8.6°C | 18.5 | 4:32 PM | Cold rain; shoulder-season sailings only |
| Dec | 5.6°C | 20.3 | 4:16 PM | Darkest month; sunset before 5:30 PM |
Sunset moves a lot over the year: 9:21 PM in June, 6:23 PM in October and 4:16 PM in December. On a three to five hour sailing, a November afternoon departure may return around or after dusk. Environment Canada publishes the local forecast and marine warnings (weather.gc.ca Vancouver forecast).

What do passengers say about this trip?
Passengers praise the guides, the boat and the sightings, and the one recurring complaint is audio on deck.
- Guides - 4.9/5 sub-score; reviewers name several crew members and call them knowledgeable.
- Sightings - humpbacks, orcas, sea lions and bald eagles show up in the most recent reviews from mid October.
- Photos - several reviewers say the crew took better pictures than they could and emailed them.
- Cold - reviewers advise an extra jacket, because the water is colder than the land.
- Audio - the platform's summary notes wind and engine noise.
The review sample I could read is ten reviews sorted by recommendation, all five stars, so it is positive-only. The 4.8/5 average over 3,141 reviews is the number to trust.
Who should skip this whale watching tour?
Skip it if you cannot spend up to five hours on a boat, if you get seasick easily, or if you want a short trip, because the listing says the duration depends on weather and whales.
- Travellers with a tight schedule: choose the 1.5 hour city and seals trip.
- Parents with strollers: strollers are not allowed on board.
- Anyone who needs a fixed departure time: the listing gives none.
The listing does not state age limits, accessibility or capacity, so ask the operator before booking for children or mobility needs. For other options, see the Vancouver boat tour list.
How do you book the Prince of Whales covered catamaran?
The covered catamaran is $181 per person with hot drinks, a photo package and a repeat-trip guarantee; I would pick the earliest date with a dry forecast.
Check availabilityI earn a commission if you book through this link, at no extra cost to you.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Prince of Whales catamaran covered?
Yes, the listing calls it a covered catamaran with a heated cabin, and the operator describes a custom-built vessel with several viewing levels.
How long is the Prince of Whales whale watching tour from Vancouver?
The listing says 5 hours, with a 3 to 5 hour range depending on weather and whale activity; one reviewer reported a full 6 hours.
How much does the tour cost?
It is $181 per person on GetYourGuide, about CAD 256 at today's rate, which is cheaper than the operator's own half-day price from CAD $229.
Where do I check in?
At the operator’s Adventure Centre on Granville Island, beside the Kasandy gift shop.
What happens if we do not see whales?
The listing promises a repeat trip if no whales are seen on the first sailing, and the operator says that offer never expires.
Are hot drinks included?
Yes, coffee, tea and hot cocoa are included; snacks are sold on board and tips are optional.
When is the best time for whale watching in Vancouver?
The operator lists April to October as the whale season, with May to September as the peak.
Can I bring a stroller or alcohol?
No, the listing prohibits baby strollers, alcohol, drugs, smoking, vaping, drones and fireworks.
Is hotel pickup included?
Probably not: the includes list mentions it, but the meeting point is the Adventure Centre, so ask the operator to confirm.
What is the best whale watching trip in Vancouver?
For comfort in wet weather I would pick this covered catamaran; for the lowest price I would look at the Richmond zodiac trip.
Sources: Prince of Whales Vancouver (operator); Fisheries and Oceans Canada, 2026 management measures; TransLink fares; Environment Canada Vancouver forecast; Destination Vancouver; Open-Meteo archive API; sunrise-sunset.org API; Frankfurter API; GetYourGuide listing 100020 (ratings, price, inclusions).


