Toronto Harbour Tours Cruise: 1-Hour Harbour and Islands Sightseeing From Pier 6
Quick answer
Toronto Harbour Tours Inc. runs a 1-hour narrated harbour and islands cruise from Pier 6 at 145 Queens Quay West for $28 per person.
The listing shows no timetable, so ask for departure times; GetYourGuide rates it 4.7/5 from 3,100+ reviews, and tips are not included.

Toronto Harbour Tours Inc.
Harbor and Islands Sightseeing Cruise
4.7 (3,183) · from $28
The Toronto Harbour Tours cruise is a one-hour narrated sail from the Harbourfront, sold on GetYourGuide for $28 per person by Toronto Harbour Tours Inc. It crosses the Western Harbour for skyline views and then threads the quiet lagoons behind the Toronto Islands.
The detail that changes the decision is the price of the alternative. The City of Toronto's own ferry to the islands costs $9.57 round trip for an adult, so this cruise is a commentary product, not a transport one: you pay for a guide and a loop, and you do not step onto the islands.
The Toronto boat tours guide compares it with the longer and the dinner boats, and the harbouradvisor.com home page links every city.
| Operator | Toronto Harbour Tours Inc. (sold on GetYourGuide) |
|---|---|
| Boat | Boat type and capacity are not stated in the listing; seating together cannot be guaranteed |
| Price | $28 per person (USD), all taxes and fees included; tips not included |
| Duration | 1 hour |
| Departure times | Not stated; they can change, and wind or waves can stop a sailing |
| Start and end pier | Pier 6, 145 Queens Quay W, check-in west of the red boathouse at York Street and Queens Quay West |
| Route | Western Harbour, Toronto Islands lagoons, Bird and Wildlife Sanctuary, island homes, back to the dock |
| Commentary | Live narration in English |
| Food and drinks | Not mentioned in the listing |
| Cancellation | Free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start |
| Accessibility | Not stated in the listing; ask the operator |
| Rating | 4.7/5 from 3,100+ reviews on GetYourGuide (the marketplace's own score) |
What is the Toronto Harbour Tours cruise?
It is a one-hour guided sightseeing cruise that shows Toronto from the water and tours the sheltered lagoons between the Toronto Islands. A captain and a guide give live commentary on the skyline, the islands' history and the people who live on them.



- Skyline: three landmarks are named: the CN Tower, the Rogers Centre stadium and Billy Bishop Airport.
- Islands: still lagoons, a wildlife sanctuary and the island homes.
- Commentary: stories and facts from the crew on the history of the harbour.
- Landing: none; you start and finish at the same dock.
The Toronto Harbour Tours cruise is a short product on purpose. At 60 minutes it is the lightest way to see the harbour, and the listing does not describe a stop on the islands, only a pass through the waterways around them.
Where does the Toronto Harbour Tours cruise leave from?
It leaves from Pier 6, at 145 Queens Quay West, and you check in beside the red boathouse, on its western flank, where York Street meets Queens Quay West. A Beaver Tails restaurant sits inside that building, which makes it the easiest landmark to spot.
| From | Walk or cost | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Union Station (TTC and GO) | 9 minutes (674 m) walking route | OSRM foot routing on OpenStreetMap |
| CN Tower | 13 minutes (946 m) walking route | OSRM foot routing on OpenStreetMap |
| Jack Layton Ferry Terminal | 5 minutes (349 m) walking route | OSRM foot routing on OpenStreetMap |
| TTC single ride (PRESTO or tap) | $3.30; $3.35 in cash | TTC fares page |
Because Union Station is 9 minutes away, you do not need a car. The listing gives no check-in time, so arrive early on your first visit and carry your voucher. Pier 6 on Google Maps will take you to the same dock.
What is the route, stop by stop?
The route has four named parts: the Western Harbour, the island lagoons, the Bird and Wildlife Sanctuary and the return, and none of them is a landing. The listing gives no timings for the sections, so the table lists what you see, not minutes.
| Part of the route | What the listing says you see | Map |
|---|---|---|
| Start at Pier 6 | Western Harbour and skyline | Pier 6 on Google Maps |
| Skyline | CN Tower and Rogers Centre | CN Tower on Google Maps |
| Airport | Billy Bishop Airport across the water | Billy Bishop Airport on Google Maps |
| Island lagoons | Calm waterways between the islands | Toronto Islands on Google Maps |
| Bird and Wildlife Sanctuary | A named sanctuary on the islands | Toronto Islands sanctuary on Google Maps |
| Island residences | Houses and the history of island residents | Toronto Islands residences on Google Maps |
| Return to Pier 6 | Landmark buildings pointed out on the way back | Pier 6 on Google Maps |
The City of Toronto describes several lagoons between each of the islands, which is the water this cruise uses. Canoe and kayak rentals for the same lagoons were marked "closed for the season" on the City page I checked on 2026-10-17, so the boat is the way onto that water in the off season.
How long is the cruise, and when does it sail?
The cruise lasts one hour, and the listing does not show departure times or a season, only that times can change and that weather and water conditions apply. This is a gap in the data, not a sign of year-round sailing.
| Item | What the listing or authority says |
|---|---|
| Duration | 1 hour |
| Departure times | Not stated; subject to change |
| Season | Not stated; ask Toronto Harbour Tours or check the date calendar |
| Weather rule | Weather and water conditions can stop a sailing |
| Seating | Groups may not sit together |
| City ferry, for comparison | Winter schedule from October 14 to mid-April; summer schedule mid-May to mid-September (City of Toronto) |
Pick the date first: if GetYourGuide shows time slots for your day, the cruise is running. The City of Toronto says its ferries run year-round from Jack Layton Ferry Terminal, with the winter schedule starting on October 14, which is useful as a fallback when a cruise slot is cancelled for weather.
What is on board, and what is included?
The $28 fare includes the cruise, the live commentary and all local taxes and fees; it does not include a tip, and the listing says nothing about food, drinks or toilets. Two things the listing does state are that seating together cannot be guaranteed and that the crew narrates live.
- Included: the one-hour sail, the narration, and every tax and fee in the price.
- Not included: tips (listed among the inclusions but a gratuity is not a fare item), food and drink.
- Not stated: boat name, deck layout, toilets, shade and accessibility.
- Language: English only; a reviewer-style suggestion in the AI summary is to add translation or audio options.
Because shade and toilets are not described, I would not bring a young child on a hot afternoon without asking. The commentary is the product, so sit where you can hear the guide.

How does it compare with the city ferry and other Toronto boats?
The cruise costs about $18 more than the ferry fare per adult, and it offers commentary and a lagoon route where the ferry offers a landing. The other Toronto boats on this site are longer or include meals.
| Option | Price | Time | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Toronto Harbour Tours cruise (this page) | $28 | 1 hour | Live commentary, skyline and lagoons, no landing |
| City of Toronto Island ferry | $9.57 adult round trip ($4.51 junior) | Crossing time not on the pages I read | A landing on the islands, no commentary |
| Premium harbour cruise with a meal | $51 | 2-2.5 hours | Lunch, brunch or dinner on the water; rated 4.5 (1,566) |
| Niagara Falls day tour with optional boat | $49 | 9-hour day | A short gorge boat ride at the falls, as an add-on |
$9.57 is the City of Toronto adult round-trip fare to the islands, which sets the price floor for being on the water.
For a meal on the water, the dinner cruise Toronto page and the premium harbour cruise are the better fit. If you want a boat ride at Niagara Falls instead, the Queen Niagara boat and Journey tour includes one.
Is the Toronto Harbour Tours cruise worth $28?
For a first visit with an hour to spare near the waterfront, I'd book it: the guide score is 4.8 and the route covers the skyline and the lagoons that a ferry crossing does not. It is weaker value if you only want to reach the islands, where the $9.57 ferry wins.
- Sub-scores: guide 4.8, transportation 4.7, value for money 4.6 out of 5.
- Time: 60 minutes, so it fits between two sights.
- Cost per hour: $28.00 on the water, against $9.57 for the ferry round trip.
- Walk-up: 9 minutes from Union Station.
Think of the Toronto Harbour Tours cruise as a sampler. It gives you the view and the stories in an hour, and if you like the islands you can take the ferry from the terminal that is 5 minutes' walk away.
When is the best time to go?
The best months are June to September, when Toronto highs reach 72-79°F and sunset runs from 7:29 PM to 9:02 PM. Open-water cruises are exposed to wind, and the listing says weather and water conditions can change or stop a sailing.

| Month | 2025 avg high | 2015-24 avg high | Rain days (2025) | Advice |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan | 28°F | 32°F | 10 | Winter layers; harbour tours run on a reduced schedule |
| Feb | 29°F | 34°F | 12 | Cold wind off the lake; dress for 30°F |
| Mar | 43°F | 41°F | 9 | Cold, boat schedule limited |
| Apr | 53°F | 50°F | 8 | Chilly on the open deck |
| May | 62°F | 63°F | 15 | Cool; a jacket for the lagoons |
| Jun | 77°F | 73°F | 10 | Mild and comfortable |
| Jul | 83°F | 79°F | 12 | Warmest; sun hat for the open deck |
| Aug | 77°F | 78°F | 6 | Warm, still bring a light layer |
| Sep | 72°F | 72°F | 7 | Mild; best balance of weather and light |
| Oct | 60°F | 60°F | 11 | Cool; fleece and windproof layer |
| Nov | 45°F | 47°F | 9 | Cold and damp; check the schedule |
| Dec | 33°F | 38°F | 12 | Freezing wind on the water; check the schedule |
Today, 2026-10-17, the average October high is 60°F with 11 rain days in 2025, and the sun sets at 6:35 PM on the 15th. By mid-December it sets at 4:43 PM per the sunrise-sunset.org API. A one-hour cruise in winter means a cold wind on the deck, so bring a hat and gloves.
The next public holiday is Christmas Day on December 25, according to the Nager.Date API. Long weekends add demand for the ferry and the pier, so book the cruise in advance for summer holidays.

What do passengers say?
Seven of ten reviews I could read praise the guide or crew, and two comment on the length. The sample is the ten most recent five-star entries, so it is positive-only and says little about rough days.
- Guides: 7 of 10 praise a named guide or host as knowledgeable, funny or friendly.
- Length: one reviewer says the hour felt like 15 minutes and another says it was the right amount of time.
- Views: reviewers highlight the skyline and the islands.
- Gap: GetYourGuide's AI summary says translation or audio options would help non-English speakers.
Who should skip the Toronto Harbour Tours cruise?
Skip it if you want to land on the islands, need a meal, or require guaranteed accessibility. The listing has no landing, no food and no accessibility statement.
- Island day-trippers: take the $9.57 ferry from the terminal 5 minutes away.
- Diners: choose the premium harbour cruise with a meal.
- Non-English speakers: the commentary is in English only.
- Travellers needing step-free access: ask the operator before booking.
- People with a tight schedule: the listing gives no departure times to plan around.
How do you book the Toronto Harbour Tours cruise?
The Toronto Harbour Tours cruise costs $28 per person for a one-hour narrated sail from Pier 6; free cancellation up to 24 hours before.
Check availabilityI earn a commission if you book through this link, at no extra cost to you.
Pick a date to see the departure times, and check the weather forecast the day before. If the slot is cancelled for weather, the booking page offers a refund or another date.
Frequently asked questions
Is city cruise Toronto worth it?
Yes, for a first visit: the $28 one-hour cruise has a 4.7 rating and a 4.8 guide score, though it does not land on the islands.
How long is the Toronto Harbour Tours cruise?
The cruise lasts one hour from Pier 6 and returns to the same dock.
Where does the cruise leave from?
It leaves from Pier 6 at 145 Queens Quay West, with check-in west of the red boathouse at York Street.
What time are the departures?
The listing does not state them and says times may change; pick a date on GetYourGuide to see the slots.
Do I get off at the Toronto Islands?
No, the cruise sails around and through the lagoons but does not land.
How much is the Toronto Island ferry?
The City of Toronto charges $9.57 for an adult round trip and $4.51 for a junior.
Is the cruise narrated?
Yes, the crew gives live commentary in English on the skyline, the islands and local history.
Are tips included?
No, tips are not included in the $28 fare.
What if the weather is bad?
Sailings depend on wind, waves and general conditions, per the listing; ask the operator about refunds or rescheduling.
How do I get to Pier 6?
Walk 9 minutes from Union Station, or take the TTC for $3.30 and walk from the nearest stop.
Can I cancel?
Yes, free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start through GetYourGuide.
Sources: City of Toronto, ferry fares; City of Toronto, ferry schedules; City of Toronto, Toronto Island; TTC fares; sunrise-sunset.org API; Nager.Date; Open-Meteo archive API; GetYourGuide listing; OpenStreetMap routing.


