Skip to content
Harbour Advisor

Ocean Free Coral Cay Cruise: 8.5 Hours, 6 on the Reef

Quick answer

The Ocean Free coral cay cruise costs US$200 (about A$287) for 8.5 hours, including a buffet lunch and about 6 hours at two outer-reef sites.

It rates 4.8/5 from 1,633+ reviews on GetYourGuide; dives, drinks and hotel pickup cost extra and guests must be mobile enough to board small boats.

Cairns Boat Trips – Outer and Coral Cay Snorkel and Dive Cruise

Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom

Outer and Coral Cay Snorkel and Dive Cruise

4.8 (1,633) · from $200

Check availability

Prices and timetables checked 2026-10-17. Prices are US$ from GetYourGuide; the A$ figures use the Frankfurter rate. This page contains affiliate links.

The Ocean Free coral cay cruise is the long-stay option among Cairns reef trips: an 8.5-hour day on a 20 m catamaran with about 6 hours at two outer-reef sites, a buffet lunch and a glass-bottom boat ride. I’d choose it when the goal is reef time, not a quick tick on the list.

The number that sets it apart is reef hours per dollar. At US$200 and 6 hours in the water, you pay about US$33 per reef hour, against roughly US$83 on the Reef Adventures half day tour. Return to the Harbour Advisor home page or the Cairns boat tours hub for the rest of the field.

Key facts - checked 2026-10-17
OperatorOcean Free and Ocean Freedom (Cairns)
Boat20 m motor catamaran; the operator’s site says guest numbers are limited to 75 on a vessel surveyed for 105
PriceUS$200 per person (about A$287 at 1 USD = 1.437 AUD, 2026-10-16)
Duration8.5 hours door to door; about 6 hours on the reef; 75 minutes each way by boat
Departure timeNot stated on the listing; the 8.5-hour length and a return at about 4:30 PM point to roughly 8:00 AM, so confirm it
Check-inReef Fleet Terminal, 1 Spence St, at least 45 minutes before sailing
SitesWonder Wall on the outer edge of Upolu Reef, then Upolu Coral Cay
Food and drinkPastry, fruit, tea and coffee on boarding; buffet lunch; afternoon cheese and cake platter; alcoholic and soft drinks extra
LanguagesEnglish
CancellationFree cancellation up to 24 hours before for a full refund
Rating4.8/5 from 1,633+ reviews on GetYourGuide
US$23.5/hThis trip per hour vs US$29.2/h city median (14 Cairns trips)products.json, GetYourGuide prices · checked 2026-10-17
25.4°CSea surface temperature offshore, waves 1.18 mOpen-Meteo Marine API · fetched 2026-10-17
25 Dec 2026Next national public holiday (Christmas Day): reef boats fill earlyNager.Date API · fetched 2026-10-17
A$287Price in local currency at 1.437 AUD per USDFrankfurter API · fetched 2026-10-17

What is the Ocean Free coral cay cruise and what do you see?

It is a catamaran day trip to two protected outer-reef sites, built around snorkelling with a marine guide and an optional glass-bottom boat ride. The first stop is Wonder Wall, a drop-off on the outer edge of Upolu Reef; the second is Upolu Coral Cay.

Where does the Ocean Free coral cay cruise leave from?

You check in at the Ocean Freedom desk in the Reef Fleet Terminal on Spence Street at least 45 minutes before departure. The terminal sits at the Cairns Marlin Marina, which means the same dock serves most Cairns reef operators.

Walking time to the Marlin Marina and Reef Fleet Terminal - OSRM foot routing on OpenStreetMap data, fetched 2026-10-17
FromDistanceWalkLink
Cairns City Centre (Shields St and Lake St)266 m4 minWalking route
Cairns Esplanade Lagoon457 m6 minWalking route
Cruise Liner Terminal635 m8 minWalking route
Cairns Aquarium1,027 m14 minWalking route

The city centre is a 4-minute walk, so a hotel pickup (available as a paid extra, booked directly with the operator at least 48 hours ahead) mainly helps people staying outside the core. Check-in at 45 minutes means an early start; arrive with swimwear on under your clothes.

Tip: The listing does not state the departure time. Ask Ocean Freedom for it when you confirm, because the 45-minute check-in rule starts from that time.

What is the route and timeline, stop by stop?

The day runs in four blocks: 75 minutes out, a morning snorkel session, lunch at the reef, an afternoon session, then 75 minutes back. The listing times each snorkel session at 2.5 hours, with lunch for 1 hour between them.

Day timeline (listing itinerary)
StepTimeWhat happens
Check in at the Reef Fleet Terminal45 min before departurePastry, fruit and hot drinks on boarding
Cruise to Upolu Reef75 minBriefing on the way
Snorkel and marine-life viewing2.5 hOptional dive and glass-bottom boat
Lunch at the reef1 hBuffet, stays moored
Second snorkel session2.5 hOptional second dive
Cruise back to Cairns75 minCheese and cake platters; arrive about 4:30 PM

That adds to 8.5 hours of tour time plus the check-in margin. The operator’s own site puts reef time at six hours and the trip out at just over an hour, consistent with the listing. It also notes about 10 minutes of sailing between the two sites. See both reefs on Google Maps.

What is on board and what is included?

The listing covers the full day’s food and gear: snorkel equipment with prescription masks, lycra suits, wetsuits in cooler months and flotation devices. Fresh-water showers are on board for the ride home.

The listing’s include list sits next to its exclusions in a way that muddles lunch, drinks and pickup. The description is clear that lunch is part of the fare, and I treat drinks and pickup as extras.

Cairns Boat Trips – Outer and Coral Cay Snorkel and Dive Cruise (photo 4)

How does the Ocean Free coral cay cruise compare with the other reef trips?

It has the most reef time of the three Cairns reef trips on this site and the highest rating, at the highest price. The cost per reef hour is the lowest of the three.

Reef trips from Cairns compared (GetYourGuide data, checked 2026-10-17)
TripLengthPriceRating (reviews)Reef timePer reef hour
Ocean Free coral cay (this trip)8.5 hUS$2004.8 (1,633)6 h at 2 sitesUS$33
Divers Den AquaQuest8 hUS$1764.6 (1,601)Up to 5 h at 2 sitesUS$35
Reef Adventures half day4 hUS$1244.7 (1,984)About 1.5 h guidedUS$83

The Divers Den boat costs US$24 less and offers a similar dive menu, so it is the closer rival; the half day is for tighter schedules. All three are listed on the snorkelling tours in Cairns page.

Is the Ocean Free coral cay day trip worth it?

Yes, if you want a long, guided reef day with food included and can accept an early start. It carries the best sub-scores of the three reef trips: guides 4.9, transportation 4.9 and value for money 4.7.

What do reef fees and stinger season change on this trip?

The listing does not say whether the Great Barrier Reef Environmental Management Charge is inside the US$200. The Marine Park Authority’s charges page lists A$8.50 for a full-day passenger, so ask Ocean Freedom if you want the all-in price.

Nov–May is when marine stinger risk is higher in Queensland waters, according to WorkSafe Queensland’s guidance for dive and snorkel operators.

The listing says lycra suits and wetsuits (seasonal) are part of the fare, which covers that window. The charge amount comes from the Marine Park Authority’s charges page, which also lists A$9.00 from 1 April 2027.

When is the best time to book the Ocean Free coral cay cruise?

May to October is the dry half of the year, with 7 to 12 rain days a month, while the wet months of January to March log 20 to 23. On a 75-minute ride each way, calm days matter more than they do on short boats.

Cairns climate by month - Open-Meteo archive 2016-2025 means, sunset from sunrise-sunset.org (2026-10-17)
MonthAvg highRain days (1 mm+)RainSunset (15th)On the water
Jan30.5°C23.0435 mm18:58Wet season: showers most days, stinger suit worn
Feb30.8°C19.9309 mm18:51Wet season: wettest stretch, stinger suit worn
Mar29.8°C21.1365 mm18:33Still wet, 20+ rain days; stinger suit worn
Apr28.4°C15.7187 mm18:09Rain easing; stinger suit worn
May26.3°C12.494 mm17:54Drier; last month of the usual stinger window
Jun25.0°C9.244 mm17:52Dry, cooler decks: bring a windproof layer
Jul24.5°C8.559 mm18:00Driest and coolest: windbreaker on the fast boats
Aug25.2°C7.036 mm18:08Dry, 7 rain days: the best odds of calm days
Sep26.7°C9.845 mm18:13Dry and warming, sunscreen on deck
Oct28.9°C8.351 mm18:17Dry, 28.9 C highs, stinger window about to open
Nov30.1°C12.461 mm18:29Stinger window opens; rain days climb
Dec30.5°C16.8288 mm18:46Build-up: 16.8 rain days, stinger suit worn

Offshore sea temperature read 25.4°C with 1.18 m waves on 2026-10-17. The listing points guests to the Bureau of Meteorology marine forecast for a 4-day outlook.

Cairns Boat Trips – Outer and Coral Cay Snorkel and Dive Cruise (photo 5)

What do passengers say about the Ocean Free trip?

All 10 reviews I could see are five stars, so the sample is positive-only. The themes are consistent, though, and the listing’s own summary names the one common complaint: waits and crowding when snorkellers and divers brief and kit up together.

Who should skip the Ocean Free coral cay cruise?

Skip it if you cannot move around a moving boat or step into a glass-bottom boat and back, if you want a short trip, or if you are under 18 without a parent or guardian. The listing states these conditions directly.

How do you book the Ocean Free coral cay cruise?

Book the 8.5-hour reef day with lunch for US$200 (about A$287) with free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead.

Check availability

I earn a commission if you book through this link, at no extra cost to you.

Frequently asked questions

How long do you actually spend on the reef with Ocean Free?

About 6 hours across two sites, with 75 minutes of boat travel each way and a 1-hour lunch stop between the snorkel sessions.

Is lunch included on the Ocean Free coral cay cruise?

Yes. The description includes a buffet lunch with smoked salmon, prawns, cold meats, a chicken platter, salads and breads. Alcoholic and soft drinks are extra.

Can beginners snorkel with Ocean Free?

Yes. A marine guide leads a drift snorkel, flotation devices are supplied and coral comes to under a metre from the surface at the first site. You must be mobile enough to transfer between boats.

Can I scuba dive on this trip?

Yes, as an optional paid extra: certified dives, or introductory dives for first-timers. The minimum age for an introductory dive in Queensland is 12, and a medical form is completed on the day.

Is hotel pickup included?

No. Pickup and drop-off is an extra option that must be booked directly with the operator at least 48 hours before travel.

What months is stinger season in Cairns?

WorkSafe Queensland says marine stinger risk is higher from November through May. The fare includes lycra suits and, seasonally, wetsuits.

Are reef fees included in the price?

The listing does not say. The Marine Park Authority lists A$8.50 for a full-day passenger on its charges page, so confirm with the operator whether the total already includes it.

What should I bring?

Bring sunglasses, swimwear, a towel, sunscreen and beachwear, as the listing advises. Drones are not allowed.

Is it better to do a reef tour from Cairns or Port Douglas?

This trip leaves from Cairns and takes about 75 minutes each way. Compare that boat time with your hotel location and your seasickness tolerance before choosing the departure port.

Is it worth it compared with a half-day reef tour?

If reef time is the goal, yes: about US$33 per reef hour against roughly US$83 on a 4-hour trip. If you only have a morning, the half day makes more sense.

Sources: Ocean Freedom operator site; GBRMPA charges; WorkSafe Queensland marine stingers; Bureau of Meteorology marine; GetYourGuide listing 108904; Open-Meteo (archive and marine), Frankfurter, Nager.Date and sunrise-sunset.org APIs, all fetched 2026-10-17.

Other boat tours in Cairns

Outer and Coral Cay Snorkel and Dive Cruise

4.8 · from $200

Check availability